Skill Building For New/Intermediate Players

Nathan Sells

A question for the beautiful Malifaux hivemind, what do you do to push a new player's skill level? 
 I started playing Malifaux with a regular opponent about a month ago, and we're both loving the game, but we've reached a stage where I'm winning the vast majority of our games. What would you do to  help level the playing field and build skill level?

Thus far we've been doing some decent post game analysis and we've run through some crew building discussions. We've also discussed playing "open book" such that both our hands are visible and we discuss our tactics; swapping our main keywords to get a better idea of how each others models play (I main Pandora, to her Mah Tucket); we've talked about me playing with a Henchmen leader/soulstone handicap to try to mitigate the skill difference; and, of course, we talked about trying to find other opponents on Vassal. 

Do you fine folks have other suggestions? 

2 minutes ago, Plaag said:

some people just reach their level of playing and cannot play better

Whilst that is true, its very unlikely to be the case if you have been playing for 2 months and only against 1 other person. 

The crew swap is one way to help in two ways. Firstly its often a great help to see someone else controlling the models you are used to, and seeing what they manage to get them to do.  Secondly, I find its useful to see how a crew looks from the other side of the table to get a good idea of what the opponent sees.  (and it also will help to see if it a case that the skill gap is in the players in general, or just the players understanding  of their crew).