Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Domin

Hazardous Terrain Questions

Question

Hi everyone. Have some questions about Hazardous Terrain. The RB says:

Terrain that is considered hazardous deals damage to models that Activate while within it, or enter it (if they are pushed, moved, or placed within the terrain).

So situations are:

1) A model starts the turn in hazardous terrain, and is pushed so that it is still in the hazardous terrain.

Would it be any damage from terrain?

2) A model starts the turn in hazardous terrain, and is pushed so that it is no longer touching the hazardous terrain.

Same question.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

12 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

You don't take damage from pushing around in the terrain or pushing out of it. Entering means starting outside and ending up inside. 

When you activate the model you check if the base is inside or not so in example 1 the model would take damage when it activated unless you had another model to push it again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1
4 minutes ago, Bazlord_Prime said:

Yeah, you have to end the movement within the terrain in order to take damage. The model can move *through* the hazardous terrain without taking damage, as long as its base is outside the terrain at the start of the Action, and at the end of the Action. 

Same with moving through engagement "auras" (sorry - forgot what to call them!). If you can get the model's base all the way through the engagement range of the enemy model and end not touching it, all in one Action, then you're not engaged with that model and don't suffer any of those effects.

There's nothing about hazardous terrain that says you have to end a push or move within it to take damage from it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1
2 hours ago, Bazlord_Prime said:

Yeah, you have to end the movement within the terrain in order to take damage. The model can move *through* the hazardous terrain without taking damage, as long as its base is outside the terrain at the start of the Action, and at the end of the Action. 

Same with moving through engagement "auras" (sorry - forgot what to call them!). If you can get the model's base all the way through the engagement range of the enemy model and end not touching it, all in one Action, then you're not engaged with that model and don't suffer any of those effects.

You take damage as soon as the model enters it.    

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Yeah, you have to end the movement within the terrain in order to take damage. The model can move *through* the hazardous terrain without taking damage, as long as its base is outside the terrain at the start of the Action, and at the end of the Action. 

Same with moving through engagement "auras" (sorry - forgot what to call them!). If you can get the model's base all the way through the engagement range of the enemy model and end not touching it, all in one Action, then you're not engaged with that model and don't suffer any of those effects.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Artiee said:

You take damage as soon as the model enters it.    

And @santaclaws01

Yip - you're both right. My bad, sorry. As soon as you hit the Hazardous, you take damage from it. In that sense, it's completely different to engagement, and don't i feel silly... 🙂

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
23 hours ago, Ludvig said:

You don't take damage from pushing around in the terrain or pushing out of it. Entering means starting outside and ending up inside. 

When you activate the model you check if the base is inside or not so in example 1 the model would take damage when it activated unless you had another model to push it again.

It looks weird to me (since you will take damage for just activating within terrain, without single move - but will not take if someone pull you through it), but ok.

And I have one more question - what if the model was within hasardous terrain at the start of a turn, and then was placed at another place, which is also within same terrain? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
28 minutes ago, Domin said:

It looks weird to me (since you will take damage for just activating within terrain, without single move - but will not take if someone pull you through it), but ok.

And I have one more question - what if the model was within hasardous terrain at the start of a turn, and then was placed at another place, which is also within same terrain? 

It's not lifelike but it's the way the game works. Activating is a very specific thing.

Not sure on your followup. I don't think you exit and reenter during a place, it's more like moving the model between two points without ever being between them. You might want to double check the rulebook on place effects because I'm just winging this answer. ;)

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
24 minutes ago, Domin said:

It looks weird to me (since you will take damage for just activating within terrain, without single move - but will not take if someone pull you through it), but ok.

The hazardous terrain rules aren’t supposed to be devastatingly lethal, especially since some models can create hazardous terrain auras.  It’s a pragmatic limit, otherwise it’d overpower actually attacking people.  :j

24 minutes ago, Domin said:

And I have one more question - what if the model was within hasardous terrain at the start of a turn, and then was placed at another place, which is also within same terrain? 

When you pick up the model physically to move it through space, the game doesn’t care.  As far as the game is concerned, at one moment it was located in the origin point and the next it’s at the destination, without occupying any of the intervening points.  If both points are in the hazardous terrain, that’s called “it remained in the hazardous terrain without leaving it.”  And as such, did not enter the terrain so doesn’t trigger the damage.

 

  • Agree 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 hours ago, solkan said:

The hazardous terrain rules aren’t supposed to be devastatingly lethal, especially since some models can create hazardous terrain auras.  It’s a pragmatic limit, otherwise it’d overpower actually attacking people.  :j

When you pick up the model physically to move it through space, the game doesn’t care.  As far as the game is concerned, at one moment it was located in the origin point and the next it’s at the destination, without occupying any of the intervening points.  If both points are in the hazardous terrain, that’s called “it remained in the hazardous terrain without leaving it.”  And as such, did not enter the terrain so doesn’t trigger the damage.

 

What your describing is flying, and other things that "ignore terrain while moving".  If hazardous worked the way you indicate, then it would instead say something like "or end a move, push, etc. within it".  It doesn't say that, it says "enter it".

A model beginning a movement and ending a movement in hazardous terrain shouldn't take additional damage because it must have already taken that terrain damage earlier (It must have gotten into the terrain somehow, either moving in already or activating there)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
9 hours ago, Clement said:

 

A model beginning a movement and ending a movement in hazardous terrain shouldn't take additional damage because it must have already taken that terrain damage earlier (It must have gotten into the terrain somehow, either moving in already or activating there)

There are ways it could not have taken the damage yet, such as it moved in last turn, and it hasn't activated because this movement is due to another model, ( obey, lure, push etc.). But it still doesn't take damage because it hasn't activated or entered which is what causes the terrain to do damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
9 hours ago, Adran said:

There are ways it could not have taken the damage yet, such as it moved in last turn, and it hasn't activated because this movement is due to another model, ( obey, lure, push etc.). But it still doesn't take damage because it hasn't activated or entered which is what causes the terrain to do damage.

Fair point.

To clarify though, if a model were to be standing in hazardous terrain, then leave and re-enter the terrain (let's say through some kind of lure near a fence or something), then it would be entering a piece of hazardous terrain that it had not taken damage from previously, so it takes the hazardous terrain damage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
10 hours ago, Adran said:

There are ways it could not have taken the damage yet, such as it moved in last turn, and it hasn't activated because this movement is due to another model, ( obey, lure, push etc.). But it still doesn't take damage because it hasn't activated or entered which is what causes the terrain to do damage.

Or had the hazardous terrain dropped on them. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×