Does Leap ignore disengaging strikes

Yeasir

Question

So I am brand new to Malifaux and loving it so far. I chose Marcus and he has served my well in my first couple games. One question that has come up is the one I just posted as my topic.

It doesn't say anywhere on the card that leap ignores disengaging strikes, but I am told that it does. Any insight into this?

Thanks! 

20 answers to this question

Disengaging strikes only occur if a model takes a specific action called a walk action. leap isn't a walk action, it is a action that allows them to move there Cg ignoring models and terrain. 

pg44 of the Big Rule book states ...Only a Walk action will provoke Disengaging strikes. leap by definition isn't a walk action therefore no disengaging strike is generated.

• Like 1

Makes sense for leap, but here's a question to throw a wrench in the works. Normally, charges can't be made while engaged, so obviously disengage strikes and charges don't interact... unless there's a specific rule that allows charges while engaged, such as Taelor's "Welcome to Malifaux." Does that mean that now charges can be made ignoring disengage strikes if they are allowed to be made?

It's a rare case, but it seems weird.

Charges are not a walk, so charges does ignore disengagement strikes. It also means you can charge through enemy engagement zones without provoking disengagement strikes.

Actually,  and this might be odd to consider, anyone can charge *through* an engagement zone or walk through an engagement zone with no problems.  It's only declaring a walk while engaged or declaring a charge while engaged that gets you into trouble.

Actually,  and this might be odd to consider, anyone can charge *through* an engagement zone or walk through an engagement zone with no problems.  It's only declaring a walk while engaged or declaring a charge while engaged that gets you into trouble.

What?