phases in your painting

EricJ

Do you ever go through phases?

So I was just looking at just about everything I've painted in the last...8-9 months and realized they're really all basically brown...I've had a brown period, and I didn't even really realize it was happening until I started photo'n them all. Anyone else have this happen without them realizing until after?

Happens all the time with me. Although, I have been in 'there needs to be some red' phase since I started painting. Its possible you've been painting quite a bit of the Lord of the Rings, as they tend to involve lots of brown, speaking as someone who paints the LoTR figures about 2 out of every 3 figures. My 'red' phase isn't so much a phase as it is a way of life, actually.

Since I've started mixing my paints together alot more in the last several months, I've noticed that I tend to keep using a few colors from model to model until I become satisfied with how the color turned out and then I'll move onto another. RMS Ashen Brown and Dark Elf/Dark Elf Highlight mixed with various colors have been showing up alot lately for me. I guess that's kindof like a phase..

/ali

I tend to use a lot of dark red, which I hadn't noticed until this thread!

I feel like I am in a stuck in a rut phase at the minute, and my painting just doesn't seem to be improving (I wouldn't mind if I were a much better painter, but there is definatley room for improvement, it just aint happening!)

I go through color phases as well. I went through a huge white phase for a while, and I still feel the effects of that every once in a while.

I also tend to go on red kicks sometimes.

Right now however, I am in the "I have no idea what colors to use on this thing" phase.

• 7 months later...

You asked for it, Eric; it's ALL your fault.