New and totally confused - A thread of questions (eventually)

Rory

Question

So I'm new to the game, reading the PDF and got to combat....and got 100% lost. I've played many table top miniature games over the years but now I'm stumped.

1:  Page 20: Every turn has a new initiative flip? So it is conceivable in the game the same person could actually win the flip every single time to be 'player 1'?

2: In the explanation of combat page 22: It mentions the Stat part of the attack action, but doesn't mention the icon listed for the card in the paragraph starting "Any Action...". I assume it means that the section means you take 5 + card total but the card MUST be a ram card or the card value is not added at all? And it also includes the extra card icon with that, so I assume you flip 2 cards?
      2a: Is the TN listed a number BOTH the attacker *AND* the target have to meet, or is it the target only? And again does it ONLY count when you flip cards with the icon?
      2b: It mentions on the 'block' showing the attack example, that you discard a card, and damage is 2/3/4 damage. Is the damage level determined by the discarded card? By the card used for the attack action + stat? By the resist?
      2c: It use the term "push" in the Disengage example. I assume push/walk are interchangeable for that? Or does it mean the disengaging model pushes the attacker back from them?

That's all for now, but I'm certain I'll have a lot more questions. I'm just having trouble wrapping my head around it, and it's so different!

23 answers to this question

8 minutes ago, Rory said:

1: The issue with a "STAT" having a card suit remains. [EDIT: re-reading replies, if I read Adrans response properly, they are indeed saying you ADD the Ram into your effect, so if you pass you get to use the Ram effect]

• Look at the abilities for Mortimer (looked up in app) His attack is Shovel - under STAT: 6Crows.