Ramos players: How many spiders do you actually use?

WWHSD

I'm new to Malifaux (just started on my first crew and have yet to play the game). Ramos looked like a good box to start with since there's other Masters in the same faction that appeal to me and he comes with models that look useful no matter which Master I'm using.

I ordered the M&SU box and a box of spiders to get started. I was planning on magnetizing them so that I could have 12 spiders or 4 swarms or some combination in between. However, when the models arrived and I assembled them I realized that my plan exceeded my skill level.

What I'm wondering is, "Will Ramos ever need more than 6 spiders or 2 swarms?". Assuming a 5 round game and Ramos summoning two spiders per round, the most spiders that I should ever need will be 10. Hitting 10 also requires nothing to be killing my spiders which means that all that scrap has to be coming from somewhere. 

Will I kick myself for making 2 swarms and 6 spiders? I really want the flexibility from magnets but I'm not sure how to pull it off.

I have had a game with nine spiders on the table even though I do not play Ramos very often. Again, because I don't play him often, I have not had him put more than one swarm on the table at a time.

There's a company selling base inserts designed to fix the problem: tiny square bases, big enough to glue each tiny arachnid to, that slot into a bigger 40mm scenic base with square cut-outs. I don't know the name offhand.