Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Aaron

Gaining Grounds 2018

Recommended Posts

Quick question: in previous iterations there was a clause that Strategy-based conditions (such as Accused) may not be removed other than through specific actions. 

 

There is no such thing in this document. Does it mean we can use regular condition removal to clear things like Shed Blood?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So, the opponent's supply wagon can be removed from play by ramming your own supply wagon at it. I must say, I'm not a big fan of that interaction.

Is the Shed Blood condition intended to be removed at the end of turn 1? At the moment it kind of seems like it isn't removed.

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
32 minutes ago, Myyrä said:

Is the Shed Blood condition intended to be removed at the end of turn 1? At the moment it kind of seems like it isn't removed.

You can't get the shed blood condition on the first turn, so it doesn't really matter

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
31 minutes ago, Myyrä said:

So, the opponent's supply wagon can be removed from play by ramming your own supply wagon at it. I must say, I'm not a big fan of that interaction.

Is the Shed Blood condition intended to be removed at the end of turn 1? At the moment it kind of seems like it isn't removed.

You can't gain the shed blood condition on turn 1. Only if you kill something "on any turn after the first".

Hmm. Is a Strategy Marker with Terrain traits a Terrain Marker? I don't think it is, but could be. Actually like the idea for cinematic value if it is. Might not be the best for competitive structure.. .

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 minutes ago, Skitt_Happens said:

Hmm. Is a Strategy Marker with Terrain traits a Terrain Marker? I don't think it is, but could be. Actually like the idea for cinematic value if it is. Might not be the best for competitive structure.. .

I'm pretty sure Terrain Marker isn't exactly defined anywhere. I assume it means a marker that has terrain traits.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Myyrä said:

So, the opponent's supply wagon can be removed from play by ramming your own supply wagon at it. I must say, I'm not a big fan of that interaction.

 

Didn`t we have that during the beta, and implemented a wording to prevent that?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Tris said:

Didn`t we have that during the beta, and implemented a wording to prevent that?

I believe so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You could argue that it`s actually a Strategy marker, but still, that might open another can of worms ....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Tris said:

You could argue that it`s actually a Strategy marker, but still, that might open another can of worms ....

Is there a rule saying strategy markers aren't terrain markers?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Myyrä said:

Is there a rule saying strategy markers aren't terrain markers?

No, I don`t recall there being any rule about what markers are per se, I know what you`re going for, as I said, interesting as I thought we already solved that problem during the beta.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What's the size on the "large" deck?  I checked WGV, but didn't see it specified.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, Skitt_Happens said:

Premium 2.75" x 4.75" Tarot Card(s)

If it was a snake, it would have bit me.  Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would just like to thank Wyrd for pointing out that I can dual faction use the dead Justice crew that I hunted so much for.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In addition to the Supply Wagons issue, I thought we got away from 0stone models counting as 10 in ours?

At the end of the beta, masters where 10 afaik, but we said that 0s like Vic of Blood/Hungering Darkness count as 0, to avoid some crews having basically 70 points in comparison to the 60 of everyone else?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

RIP suited schemes :(

By the way, WHO is that girl with the claws on page 15?!? That's so cool I swear that'd be enough for me starting Ten Thunders, if indeed it is a TT model.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
17 minutes ago, edopersichetti said:

RIP suited schemes :(

By the way, WHO is that girl with the claws on page 15?!? That's so cool I swear that'd be enough for me starting Ten Thunders, if indeed it is a TT model.

The same (lovely) art was used in Broken Promises, and the Ten Thunders lorekeepers posted that it looked like someone from a Chronicles story...unfortunately not from any issue I have (I haven’t downloaded them all).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Gnomezilla said:

The same (lovely) art was used in Broken Promises, and the Ten Thunders lorekeepers posted that it looked like someone from a Chronicles story...unfortunately not from any issue I have (I haven’t downloaded them all).

Ok I totally missed it in the book! I hope it leads to a model, it's very cool.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/1/2018 at 4:20 PM, Tris said:

interesting as I thought we already solved that problem during the beta.

We solved it, since the last iteraction was with the "non-strategy" clause included, and non one contested it...

Two possibilities here: designers changed their minds, or it's a misprint. In the second case it could be a problem since gg2018 cards deck are online to be sold...

 

On 9/1/2018 at 12:05 AM, Tris said:

In addition to the Supply Wagons issue, I thought we got away from 0stone models counting as 10 in ours?

Yes, this too. The last consensus was 0 stones non-leader models count effectively zero, if I remember correctly.  Same previous considerations.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think we need a clarification about how Supply Wagons works now, with the changes letting a player removing the opponent's marker.

Let's say playerA have his SW marker well guarded by friendly models that are placed all around the marker itself. The opponent's marker is at a distance so that a 4" push could bring playerB's marker exactly on top of the opponent's one. What happens if playerB push his SW marker 4" toward the opponent's one? PlayerA's marker is removed? And what if the push is less than 4", so that the marker would end on top both of opponent's marker and another model? Marker is removed in this case?

The first case I would say yes. About the second... I dunno... :huh:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 minutes ago, SunTsu said:

I think we need a clarification about how Supply Wagons works now, with the changes letting a player removing the opponent's marker.

Let's say playerA have his SW marker well guarded by friendly models that are placed all around the marker itself. The opponent's marker is at a distance so that a 4" push could bring playerB's marker exactly on top of the opponent's one. What happens if playerB push his SW marker 4" toward the opponent's one? PlayerA's marker is removed? And what if the push is less than 4", so that the marker would end on top both of opponent's marker and another model? Marker is removed in this case?

The first case I would say yes. About the second... I dunno... :huh:

They are not terrain markers but strategy markers with a terrain trait so you can't remove them. Problem solved. Every model's base has the terrain trait impassable and blocking, still doesn't mean you remove models when you hit them with a wagon because they are not classed as terrain.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Ludvig said:

They are not terrain markers but strategy markers with a terrain trait so you can't remove them. Problem solved. Every model's base has the terrain trait impassable and blocking, still doesn't mean you remove models when you hit them with a wagon because they are not classed as terrain.

References?

Models have not terrain features. And are not markers too.... They are blocking and impassable by definition, but not as a terrain trait. As someone else pointed out, there isn't a clear definition of what a "terrain marker" is (or is not).

I mean, finally I think it would work the way you described it. But by raw it's not so clear. I think it needs a FAQ or at least an official point of view...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

×