Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
SteampunkCake

Lady Justice Vs Metal Golem

Question

So an interesting situation occurred during my game last night.
When Lady Justice kills a model it drops no markers.
When the Metal Golem is killed it's demise ability would drop a scrap marker.
Does Lady Justice's ability stop the demise ability?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

11 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 4

Rules pdf page 3 under "Breaking the Rules":

Quote

If two special rules directly contradict each other, rules that prevent something from happening take precedent over rules that allow something to happen.

 

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1
Just now, Maniacal_cackle said:

Lady J says "doesn't drop any markers when killed" and the demise says "after this model is killed."

Since the demise is tied to being killed and Lady J prevents that, I think RAW indicates you don't get the marker. You could argue RAI either way. So I would lean heavily towards not getting the marker.

Well thats initially what I thought, but the detailed timing says otherwise. if you look it says first you resolve any after killing effects, which includes demise, then you drop markers as a result of it being killed. So although it is determined "killed" the moment it drops to 0 hp and doesnt get healed, markers drop after "after killing" effects. So if we want to claim that the Lady J's ability only works in the moment of killing, then it wouldnt work at all. 

Its unforunate, because Demise: Explosive has the same working, which means it would override the Metal Golem's demise as well. I dont know if thats intended, but rn I think the detailed timing makes it work that way. If the timing were swapped, if markers were placed before demise effects, then it could be interpreted differently, but it cant be that way because that would screw up demise: eternal. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
6 hours ago, Nikodemus said:

Rules pdf page 3 under "Breaking the Rules":

 

I disagree. Lady J's ability prevents markers dropped from the killing of the model, but it doesnt prevent the demise ability

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
17 minutes ago, Mycellanious said:

I disagree. Lady J's ability prevents markers dropped from the killing of the model, but it doesnt prevent the demise ability

It prevents all markers being dropped regardless of the source, including the Golem's and pig's Delicious Bacon demise abilities that drop markers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Lady J says "doesn't drop any markers when killed" and the demise says "after this model is killed."

Since the demise is tied to being killed and Lady J prevents that, I think RAW indicates you don't get the marker. You could argue RAI either way. So I would lean heavily towards not getting the marker.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

@Mycellanious any reason you think Lady J applies to a single point in time? I'd read her as adding a condition to markers being dropped (did the drop originate from killing them? Then it doesn't drop).

Her ability is passive. It doesn't say "after", so I believe applies when relevant, not at a specific timing step.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 hours ago, Mycellanious said:

Well thats initially what I thought, but the detailed timing says otherwise. if you look it says first you resolve any after killing effects, which includes demise, then you drop markers as a result of it being killed. So although it is determined "killed" the moment it drops to 0 hp and doesnt get healed, markers drop after "after killing" effects. So if we want to claim that the Lady J's ability only works in the moment of killing, then it wouldnt work at all. 

Its unforunate, because Demise: Explosive has the same working, which means it would override the Metal Golem's demise as well. I dont know if thats intended, but rn I think the detailed timing makes it work that way. If the timing were swapped, if markers were placed before demise effects, then it could be interpreted differently, but it cant be that way because that would screw up demise: eternal. 

I can't quite figure out what you're trying to say.

I think you're admitting that Lady Justice's ability applies to (and blocks) the Demise abilities.

If the sticking point for you is that there are a bunch of "when this model is killed" effects that probably should (for clarity, at least) say "After this model is killed", and because of that we have to be liberal about how we interpret 6.c's language...  Well, yeah.  👩‍🔬👩‍💼

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I agree that Lady Justice prevents markers from being put on by killing a model but I don't see the reason why she stops the effect of Demise (Eternal) if this is only an effect of avoiding be killed once per turn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Necrokamo said:

I agree that Lady Justice prevents markers from being put on by killing a model but I don't see the reason why she stops the effect of Demise (Eternal) if this is only an effect of avoiding be killed once per turn.

No one is saying she stops Demise (Eternal). What people are saying is she stops Demise (drop a Marker).

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I would say yes. Looking at the detailed timing, the marker dropped from killing a model is at the same time as the marker dropped from the demise ability (page 34 electronic)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I agree with the more common opinion here; LJ stops demise(drop a marker). However it's not unreasonable to think she can't, so a quick FAQ about it won't hurt imo.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...