Lucius - New Player Seeking Advice

facie

I'm brand new at Malifaux (learned at Origins) and am thinking about building around Lucius.  After the recent errata, can folks with more experience a solid 50ss build?  

I'm not asking folks to do my work for me, but the choices in this game are sort of overwhelming for a new player!  I need some focus from folks who have been playing for a bit!  

Thanks!

You choose your crew after discovering what your opponent's faction is, and what the scheme and strategy pool is.  You're not supposed to go "I lost because my crew couldn't deal with the schemes I had available."

I'm afraid you're asking for a 50SS list without knowing what it's going to be designed to work for.

The best thing you can do as a new player is commit to losing a dozen games, picking models that you want to try out just to see what they do.  Borrow models, or proxy models with printed out/photocopied cards, and see what you like.  Or, if you can stand the interface and you've got the books for reference, give playing a game on Vassal a try.

You're feeling overwhelmed by choices that you don't have any experience making.  So go out there and get that experience. :)  

If you're looking for general advice on what goes well with new Lucius, I can make some recommendations.

The Scribe, Queeg and a Witchling Thrall or two (who sadly don't have a regular release date yet :() are what I usually build around.  Queeg helps squeeze the last drop of goodness out of your minions, the Thralls are hard hitting and hardy minions, who will benefit from pretty much everything Lucius and Queeg do.  The Scribe just keeps people alive.

The rest can be filled to taste.  I'm fond of Changelings and Orderlies (from the two player starter box).  Reporters, Watchers Hunters and Austringers are also pretty good.  If you're thinking of picking up a second master, Hoffman's box offers Lucius a LOT.