Hot take: Is 2018 the "Year of Thunder"?

JoeCL

Is 2018 going to be a great year for 10 thunders players? I'm just getting into the faction and I think it's possible it's just the right time to do so. Things I'm considering:

Gaining grounds 18 curbing the power of activation control.

Movement and AP efficiency are going to be huge in the new strats.

2 straight years of great new models coming out for the faction

At least 2 masters that made huge "tier jumps" with new upgrades in Yan Lo and Misaki

I don't think the Jan 2018 nerf focus will be on Thunders. Could be wrong about this.

Are we going to see a bitcoin-esque surge in power level? Or are some other factions improving at about the same rate? I'm coming from arcanists and I think they might be getting a little left behind. Especially if there is a pending Sandeep nerf.

Of course, the pending errata is a huge wild card.

That's my hot take.

2 hours ago, Kogan Style said:

Lynch will continue to clean house in GG18

Agreed.  I know I shouldn't be surprised, but it just amazes me how consistently strong Jakob Lynch has been through all of the GG versions.  At least as TT.  My Lynch crews start off with Lynch, Hungering Darkness, and Sensei Yu.  Everything else is just gravy.  I can take anything I want after that and Lynch is still very strong regardless of what I choose.  Lynch is much more flexible than I first thought when I started playing Malifaux.

It makes me wonder why I don't see him across the table as much.