Lucius crew and the wicked Lilith

Erik1978

I'm still new at Malifaux, have a lot of miniatures though, keep wanting to try new things.

It seems a crew is a bit fragile if it only has shooting since a lot of models can get into melee without ever being in range of a shot. 

So here's the question, will this fairly shooty-non-melee crew stand a chance or should I include a counter attacking punch too?

It also seems to me that Lucius is one of the weakest Masters out there, with no defensive skills of any kind and not a lot of wounds? What kind of role should he have since Melee is something he seems good at but he can't take a lot of beating?

Here is the 50 SS:

Lucius with a few upgrades

Scribe

Captain Dashel

Guild Sergeant

3 Guild Riflemen

Guild Guard

Lone Marshal

Too shooty and therefore too weak against fast moving hard hitters?

I've played about 12 games so far and I've only seen a few things I think seem a bit out of balance in this game. One thing though, seems VERY unbalanced but perhaps I'm missing something (I hope so) and that something you might be able to point out for me?

Lilith with Beckon Malifaux, Living Blade, and Wicked Mistress seems like a crazy point and click combination!?!

She throws down a forest that nobody can see through, except her, when she wants to use Ca Tranfixing gaze to pull people into her forest, where they will first take some damage and become slow, and then she whacks them (some times for free) with a VERY powerful living blade.

There doesn't seem to be any counter measure to this? If I'm within 12" of Lilith (which is quite a long threat range) she can pull me near and decapitate me. If I try to out maneuver her, she can simply move and throw the forest in a new location. Lilith at the center of the table, behind her magic forest is quite a big area I have to avoid.

I can't shoot her, I can't charge her, I can't target her with Ca actions... what can I do?