Worries of a new player: My local meta

Whut

So I'm completely new to Malifaux, but I really really like it a lot. By talking to other more experienced players in my local shop/club, I've learned that locally, most people play Arcanists (with most playing Rasputina and Ramos) and after that, Neverborn and Guild, followed by just a few players playing 10T, Gremlins, and Ressers. (Not sure about Outcasts).

Basically just I have knowledge of other wargames (Warmahordes, LotR, 40k, Fantasy) but not much about Malifaux at the moment other than a 40ss demo game and some stat cards as well as the rulebook.

My only fear is that I see a lot of our troops having lower Wp than Df, and our faction has nearly no ranged options apart from Seamus and a few other select models (or tricks, such as the Belles). With my very limited knowledge, I fear that many games I will be at a slight disadvantage from the get-go due to either the low Wp, the slow Wk, or no shooting, or all three. I also fear that since we are a melee-based faction, what could we ever do against a melee monster such as Lady J? I assume most would try to shoot her off the board before she can tear a hole in your crew, but we can't do that. Also our resilience, while somewhat helpful, I fear will still not be able to hold up a crazy beast like that.

Would someone assure me otherwise? I know I'm most likely wrong, but I just want to be explained what our faction can do to counter the tricks that other factions bring to the table.

Much appreciated!

Another relatively new player here.

I maybe don't have the detailed answers to spefics you're looking for (they'll come from other though, i'm sure) but i can tell you that killing enemy models is not the most important thing in malifaux.
If you play the Strat and Schemes movement tricks and bordcontrol beyond "i kill everything that tries to come that way" are more important - at least that's what i find to be true.