The less biased Great Joker Debate

dgraz

• Replies 173
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Anyone can at any time.

Please feel free to post a detailed examination of the strats or schemes and what we can do about them.

This is neither a joke nor sarcasm. If we want to veer the discussion in useful directions, we need to do the veering, not beg other people to do it for us.

I voted no. The jokers are great, they give me hope. Hope that my little zombie chihuahua can take down big bad aRamos. Hope that a desolation engine trying to smash nicodems face I after the mindless are gone will miss.A parallel I see for you dnd players is how would you feel if the critical hit and critical miss were removed from a d20 and it became a d18 with 2-19 and an extra 2&19? It removes that small glimmer of hope or that risk factor when the deck is low. I like it and feel it should be here to stay.

While I am fairly new to the game I find the Jokers to be an incredible part of the game. I find them balanced because there is both a positive and negative option that have an equal chance of being drawn or flipped.

I find nothing wrong with the idea that a "lesser" minion can take down a "greater" minion in a single lucky shot (because Bad Things Happen) in a skirmish sized game each model needs to have a potential effect. Larger army scale games can afford to have some units that barely impact the final results, I can't say the same thing here.

I think the true balance from the Jokers comes from the current combat total system that leans towards having to take negative fate modifiers, thus preventing the Red Joker cheat if it is in a players hand. They need to land a pretty solid hit most of the time to actually drop that Joker, otherwise they have an equal chance of flipping it as they do any other card they are not holding.

Just my opinion, and I only have a few games experience, but it is how I feel.

Good day ya'll!