Sonnia Criid Crew help

Montejello

I'm new to Malifaux the game but got the minis to paint a while back. I am trying to expand and build a crew for some league games with Sonnia or Perdita as my master. Which would you recommend for a newbie? What sets each apart? I have a small group of guild minis to use.

Here are my possible candidates:

Sonnia Boxset

Perdita Boxset

Lady J Boxset

Convict Gunslinger

Executioner

All guild Totems

Student of Conflict

Austringer

Any help or advice on game play and crew ideas for Perdita and/or Sonnia would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Monte

Edited by Montejello

Sonnia is slightly trickier than Perdita or Lady J, I think. Ranged and melee (Perdita and Lady J respectively) are easy concepts for a new player to get their heads around, whereas Sonnia's magic, while hardly Leviticus-complex, needs a bit more thought.

I thought Sonnia's thought process was mostly... Does it move. Yes. BURN IT WITH magical fire. It didn't feel that subtle when I played her.

I will admit that I haven't played for long, so take this with liberal amounts of salt, and please correct me if I'm wrong on something!

That disclaimer out of the way, I feel that playing Sonnia requires a little finesse to get right. You'll want to keep cards on your hand to use some abilities, and you'll have to figure out when to use your (0) actions for the best effect. Also, you'll often be playing up to 4 points down in scraps, because you really want the max amount of soulstones for her.

That said, I think she's pretty awesome. Her starting box crew is solid, and can do most things well; ranged, melee and magic. Of course Lady Justice would be better for pure melee, and Perdita is pure ranged, but I think that Sonnia's crew is the most balanced.

I cant recommend anything because I haven't actually played with or against Perdita or Lady Justice, but I can say that Sonnia is not that complicated; she just takes a little more finesse :)