new player thinking of fraction

McLovinMcCheese

im new to the game iv been looking through the ranges and some, guides online and want to get in to the game, i like the ten thunders faction but i have a problem im finding it difficult to find advice on the models i have interest in i want to play ten thunders because i like samurai, but are the samurai any good and what do they work well with iv heard the brewmaster is good with them but what elce? or am i diving in to far. should i just get a crew box first and learn the game before getting fussy over what i want

Playing models you like to look at is a very good reason for playing the game. 

The nature of the game means that all models have a use, but they might not be best at a certain time. 

Samurai are fine. I probably wouldn't often play 3 in a list, but am happy to hire one for most strategies. 

They will work fine with any of the Ten thunders masters. I can't think of a particular synergy that they have with any one master, but they do a job that any master could want

Getting a crew box and a box of Samurai is not a bad start. Learning using multiples of the same model make it that you have less to remember whilst you are trying to learn the rules. 

I've played Samurai several times with Misaki, mostly just one, but sometimes even two. They have never actually amortized their cost, so I'm not really into them.

However, I think they should work better in a Shenlong crew, taking advantge of Shenlong's aura, which synergize well with the Samurai Stand Ground and Reading the Wind rules, especially as the Samurai doesn't have a (0) action of its own. Also, they should work good with either the Emmisary or the Obsidian Oni from wave 3, as they wouild always have an upgrade with them.

Another option is using them in a Lynch crew, to dig aces with their shooting action, but I'm not completely sure if that will really justify bringing a 8SS model, when there are to many nice things in that cost range.