Competitive Play

grey3

I've been playing Malifaux in Central IL at the Gopher for about 3 months now and have decided to get a more competitive with my game. I'll be stepping up to play in Adepticon (so far only the Cake and Costume tourneys, on the waiting list for Masters and may have a teammate for the Team).

I know that I need to play more games, start writing battle reports, and get the rules down flawlessly, if I intend to play at this level.

Apart from these things though, what would anyone suggest doing to step up my game? Any common pitfalls that a noob can make when attempting his/her first tourney?

Thanks guys, hope to see you at Adepticon :D

I think you need to practice under a strict time limit. Every event is a little different, but typically, 35ss tourney games are about 85-90 minutes. This is not very much time, especially if you are used to playing casually. You'll need to keep moving things along if you want to play more than a few turns. And be aware that your opponent is going to want to be moving too and won't be happy if you are playing at a casual-game pace.

Also, the time between rounds will be rather tight. Expect only 10-15 minutes to find your table, pick your crew, dig your crew out of your bag, and setup before start time is announced.

I don't mean to overstate it. Malifaux players are still pretty easy going compared to other tourneys. But keeping the time limits in mind will really help your play experience.

I'd also recommend playing with a notebook and whenever you have a question in game, make a choice about it for the purposes of the game but write down the question and come here to get them answered definitively to learn from.

Battle reports help a lot.

I learn whenever I post one that had something wrong in it.