Drafting in Malifaux?

SEV

I'm new to Malifaux but I played magic since forever. I'm mostly a limited player and I think the strategic dept and sheer fun of a draft could be imported to Malifaux as an alternative way to chose your crew.

It could be especially nice if you have access to a large collection or you're playing on  Vassal... Those models that are usually unplayable could get a second chance to shine in a limited pool (you're right, I'm just trying  ton find a way to field the awesome wrestlers models 😉).

I think there several way to proceed. This is my suggestion:

Set a stone total (I'm guessing 40).

Choes a scenario and  a scheme pool.

Set aside models. Randomly set 3 pack of 1 henchman/master, 2 enforcer, 4 minions, 1 general upgrade.

Rochester draft each packs.

Build your crew. No faction restrictions. Every models count into the points total. Master come with their totems (but you have to pay for them if you field them).

What do you think (yep it means that you'll have a mismatched crew across multiple faction)? 

• Thanks 1

Sounds fun and wacky, what a cool idea!

Possibly a bit tricky to coordinate enough people. Also sorting the "packs" for the draft may be challenging, but worth a go!

One thought is I would go with Henchman leaders and leave masters out entirely. Drafts should be lower powered, and you don't want games dominated by 'oh, my opponent drafted Seamus, guess they win.'

A possible alternative to capture the 'limited' feel of MTG without directly copying draft:

Each person declares faction and a henchman leader. They then get an additional 35/40/50/whatever stones for their crew.

BUT after every pick, the opponent gets to ban a keyword. So you might pick Anna Lovelace and see Transmortis banned right off the bat to deny undergraduate synergy or whatever.

Maybe limit it to one versatile.