How to get multiple suits in a duel

James Parkinson

Hi everyone.  I'm new to Malifaux and I am myself introducing new gamers to it as well.  One of them asked a question I couldn't fully answer.  Take a look at Autumn Knight.  She has "exotic weapons" and a trigger on a ram of puncture.  However two rams in the duel give a double positive flip - but how is it possible for her to get two rams? As a minion she cant use soulstones.  Thanks James

Autumn Knights can't on their own.   Another model might be able to give them a suite (Pandora comes to mind).  As part of the conversion from M2E to M3E, Wyrd standardized a lot of the triggers.  The same trigger will have the same wording no matter which model it is on.  So, there are other models in the game  that have the puncture trigger that can used soulstones or get extra suits.  

Yeah, I think that's the important point to be aware of:  Because of the standardization of wording, the same trigger wording is being used across models that can use soul stones and models that can't.  And I think there were also a lot of cases where the developers went "In the future, there may be another effect that adds suits, so it's better to cap each trigger effect now."

I mean, I don't think there's a way at the moment for any model with the Blaze Trigger to get three :tome in a duel, or for a model with the Puncture trigger to get three :ramat the moment.  But both those triggers have their effects capped at 2.

• Like 1

14 hours ago, solkan said:

I mean, I don't think there's a way at the moment for any model with the Blaze Trigger to get three :tome in a duel, or for a model with the Puncture trigger to get three :ramat the moment.  But both those triggers have their effects capped at 2.

Yeah, though Carver could get 4 :rams for Critical Strike: 1 built in, flip 1 for a card, stone for 1, and Pandora gives him one.

16 hours ago, Chris Rivers said: