New to game, looking at Arcanists

GrimmMJ

Hey guys, completely new to the game and having my first intro game later this week. Im still looking at crews but got stuck on Arcanists. While im not extremely competitive I do enjoy winning now and then so before I start buying boxes im wondering which crews among the Arcanists are considered stronger and weaker? Just going by the looks of the models I do like Rasputina and Kaeris but got no clue wether they are competitive or not.

So all advice for a complete noob looking to start out Arcanists are welcome!

Colette is widely considered the "best" master in arcanists, and many like Ramos too. Colette has a lot going on though, so she is maybe not the best master for a beginner. Ramos is a bit more straight forward and you get some of the best models for Arcanists in his box. Ironsides is probably the "worst" master. Malifaux is very dependent on player skill though, so you could win with anyone. Of the ones you listed, Rasputina is great for a beginner. She is pretty straight forward and easy to understand, but still has some depth. She is better in some schemes than others though. I've never played with Kaeris or against her, so I'm no expert, but she is a little more complicated to do well with.

Personally I would say that Ironsides is probably the weakest Arcanist master at the moment. But that could just be my much lower level of experience with her

The others are fairly close in power, depending on what you want to do, so Rasputina is probably one of our most killy masters, but is not as good in mobile games. Colette is probably most versatile, and best at scheme marker shenanigans, which generally turn into VPs, and as I understand it VPs win games. 

But my personal play style doesn't get the most out of Colette, so for me she is probably 4th or 5th choice of Arcanist to play if I really want to win.