Ulix. What to use?

thickgiraffe

Hey guys. I realise that there are various posts giving people's views on ulix but as I am new to malifaux as a whole but really want to get ulix when he comes out over here I was wondering what people would use in a 50ss crew with him as master. Hopefully I will have a bit more experience with the game before he's released. I really like pigs in my lists so ulix just makes sense.

Thanks

I tend to pick Ulix when I'm looking to play a summoner, so my crews always have a 50mm pig to start from, and that's normally Old Major because his abilities make him a useful addition to a crew even if he's not on thw front line. A Slop Hauler is a given for summoning, and Penelope brings a lot to the table for only 2ss. Then a bunch of piglets and maybe a war pig or the sow or gracie. Any spare stones go on models good for the scheme pool (e.g. Merris for plant explosives).

I always make sure to take Corn Husks, which lets piglets take (1) interacts as (0) actions, making them even better at distract and cursed object, as well as letting you drop three markers and summon a warpig turn 1.

Hog Whisperers can be good for handing out Reactivate to those Piggies as well as providing some more movement shenanigans via Soeey!. Sammy Lacroix could be worthwhile to hold one of Ulix Upgrades and also provide some Stuffed Piglet summoning (suit dependent though the material component is enemy Scheme markers so that is a plus). A Gremlin Taxidermist might also be worth a look for providing Flight for the Piggies and also Stuffed Piglet summoning.

Other than those, Ulix seems pretty self sufficient without many or any other gremlin's.

Ulix is one of my favorite masters and I usually build him with some personal auto includes for most games. This being said, the great thing about malifaux is that schemes and starts will add variety to each game and when you do play him you will discover what you like and what you love to use :)