Paint recommendations

rich_nowak

Hello , I am just about to take the next step and paint my 2e miniatures , I was wondering if any of you guys could give me some paint recommendations , I only used citadel paints when I was heavy into warhammer but from the looks of it their catalog got a total overhaul (haven't painted miniatures in a long time lol) and I don't see washes anymore . Also Is formula p3 any good ? I saw one write up on it and the author seemed to rave about it .

Any help would be great !

Hi Parallax

Im new to malifaux but a kinda experienced painter :) If quality paints is what you want, and you aren't bothered about shipping/postage costs, Valejo paints are pretty much the best from experience. The dropper bottles are much better than gw pots, as you neednt use a brush, and since Valejo only make paints, you can be sure as hell they're good quality. The metallics are absolutly super and offer an amazing finish, far brighter than gw metallics. However, if you're not too bothered abou quality, or have a lot of them from doing WH or WH40K, citadel paints are just fine. I still use them, but I intend to make the full switch to Valejo when i run out. Washes are still in the GW range, they're just called shades now i think. GW are also beginner friendly, as they use a simple step by step process of base shade layer, but better effects can be produced when using valejo, as the colours aren't as limited. Unfortunately never used P3 paints so couldn't help you there, but my brother says they are hit and miss (some paints can be thick and others too thin), and valejo are ultimately better. Army painter do nice coloured sprays for batch painting, which is good for large model count at minimum effort, but I haven't tried the actual paints.