Types of Paint

Blank

My friends and I use Formula P3. The paint and brushes are actually theirs so I'm looking into buying my own.:hmmmm:

But I was just wondering what type of paint do you all use? I've heard there are a wide range of them out there so I'm just curious. I know there are some good for washing, some good for drybrushing, and some good for just plain base coats.

What do you prefer?

Well I used GW Foundation paints and washes as well as Vellajo paints and washes and washes that I have made myself. I would recommend trying some different brands and find out what works best for you. Vellajo is what I use mostly and I feel that for the price they are the best ones out there. Massive color selection and the dropper bottle combined with great prices works best for me.

Good luck to you and I hope to see your crews soon.

I use Vellajo, this is partly due to the fact that I started painting flames of war as my first miniture game I got into. I like Vellajo alot, the colors are sometimes a bit thick but adding water to them fixes that right up.

I cant say that i ever had a problum with Vellajo paints and since i started with them I never really got into the others. I have some GW paints (3 or 4 but I liked my Vellajo more.

As for washes I make my own future wash using 1 part Future floor wax 2 parts water and enough black inda in to be my color of choice, I also use other color inks but i mainly ink with black.

-I hope this helps,

Andrew

Another voice in support of Vallejo paints.

I used Citadel paints for quite a long time as they are the easiest to come by in the area, but Vallejo not only produces paints which range from comparable to much better, but also series of additives (glazing mediums, matte mediums, retarders etc.) which ease the entry into more advanced painting techniques considerably.

I still use Citadel foundation paints and Washes though - both speed up the more boring painting tasks.