Ramos v Pandora, the pain.

Hansbrix

So i started playing malifaux and picked up the Ramos crew. I soon dicovered that he is harder to use than most. No big deal, i lost the first few games but learnt a lot.

Then i tee up a game against Rathnard and his wonderful pink Pandora crew.

I have never had a more demoralizing game. Seriously by turn 3 i just wanted out. There was quite literally nothing i could think of that would help.

It was a 35SS game with me taking:

Ramos

brass arachnid

steamborg

arachnid swarm

arachnid swarm

Rath took:

Pandora

Candy

Kade

Teddy

4x sorrows.

I have Rusty Alice on her way with the hope her ranged attacks might do some damage, and was thinking of getting Hans.

Is pandora just one of those matchups that ramos cannot deal with? How do you deal with her?

Try forgoing the steamborg and the swarms and replacing them with lots and lots of steampunk arachnids. Use your arachnids to engage and tie up models or detonate and do 2 irresistible damage. Ramos should hang way back and create as many spiders as possible to make up for any who exploded. With any luck, you should be able to do a lot of damage with very few Wp tests.

Above all, don't get discouraged... Ramos has a steeper learning curve than most. Keep at it and you'll see how good Ramos can be. ;)

Edited by Angus Khan

There's a similar thread in the general forum which might help you out, too.

Essentially, yes, Pandora can be a right pain and is very difficult to lock down. Ramos has the advantage of detonating Spiders, however, which at least means he can bypass her WP-based defensive ability (although do expect your opponent to burn some Soul Stones on healing flips).

Ramos has another gear.

Spiders don't hurt themselves much with Self Loathing and Pandora can cast it three times and so can Candy. About 1 damage a cast.

Self Loathing is fierce against Swarms because their Weak damage is remarkably high. Also their +ve flip applies.