Introducing complete newbies to Malifaux

wobbly_goggy

A new gaming club has started up in my city, with most members being role players or board gamers, with a smattering of 40k and Blood Bowl enthusiasm thrown into the mix.
However, as everyone knows, Malifaux is the best game. I know that, you know that, but they don’t know that…yet.
in my previous incarnation as an M2E henchman, I had an easier time of it convincing people to play in the LGS as a bunch of people already had crews or were interested. Here I’m starting  completely from zero (the club and the LGS also don’t get on, so using previous players to help intro is off the table 🙄)

So what recommendations do you have for introducing people to Malifaux?
Crews/Masters? Strats? Schemes? I’d love to show people how much you need to use your brain in Malifaux, it’s not just shootshootkillkill, but simpler strats and schemes might be better? What do you think?
I have Perdita/family, all Bayou masters, Marcus, Kaeris and a bunch of stuff that’s not really viable (Guild/ arcanist faction stuff that I no longer have keyword master for; guard, performer, December etc) and the M2E starter box minis.
What minis would you use?

Grateful for any help, advice or ideas!

• Agree 1

I used to run starter events where I get a bunch of sign-ups and get 5-10 people to commit to try the game for four weeks.

There's some old threads on these forums you can search for in Malifaux discussion by me, or I may be able to dig them up later.

I haven't made an updated one for GG3.

The starter box situation is such that I'd possibly ignore the existence of starter boxes if you can provide decks and scheme markers yourself. 

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

• 1 month later...
3 hours ago, Phototoxin said:

Is Henchman hardcore an option?