Effects on piece of terrain, Terrain size and balancing

Tired peasant

Question

Hello,

I'm new to the game.
I'm working with a friend building a board and a lot of questions for balancing are raised.
Let's have a look at the following effects:

• Waldgeist, Kurgan - Tangling roots - "... any other model in the same piece of severe Terrain ..."
  • Jedza - Life of earth - "Target a terrain piece ..."
  • Grave goo
    • Through the much - "After it came into base contact with any terrain ..."
    • Trail of slim - "Enemy models treat terrain in base contact with this model ..."

I was planning to have a river/canal moving through my board and consider it as sever terrain.
It's quite different from targeting a small wood.
And I don't even talk about If your gaming board is a swamp with small "dry" islands on it :D

It totally makes sens in term of fluff, but I wonder:

• how to keep it "balanced"
  • avoid unnecessary question during the game

And then it goes even further in the headache :

1. Is there a definition of what is a Piece of terrain ?
  2. A building is a piece of terrain right ?
    1. Does it count as one single piece ?
    2. Or does each wall count as separated ?
    3. What if the building is big ?
    4. Does the inside count as the same piece ?
  3. I have an elevated square (2~3 inches) with stairs to reach it:
    1. Is all of it a terrain piece ?
    2. Same question than the building with the walls ...
    3. Is the top flat surface of it a terrain piece then ?
    4. Same question with the stairs ...
  4. Should a terrain have a max size ?
  5. Or should I max the distance reach of such abilities I quoted above ?

I guess the answer gonna be something like: "Discuss it with your opponent before the game".
But I don't want every game staring with a long negotiation with every new player and remembering what was agreed with who ... 
Is there convention / tournament guidelines that can help ?