I may be a little in love with Molly – thoughts of a total newbie

lille354

I appear to have come late to the Malifaux party, although not to the hobby.  I picked up the Molly box set because it looked quite cool and I had looked at Malifaux years ago but I think it is a fairly well accepted opinion that the rules were not the clearest and also no one I knew played it.  I had bought some of the older metal figures, which I still have, by happy coincidence Madame Sybelle was amongst them which has proved fortunate.

I have not played a lot of games but am totally hooked.  So far I have only used Molly (Horror) as a Master and I am loving her.  I am beginning to think she is not the easiest of first Masters but you can get the hang of her eventually.   I have been fortunate to face a great variety of enemy masters to get a real feel for the game. 

To me the strengths are:

·         You don’t need an awful lot of models for a decent crew – I have found this to be slightly less true of Molly but that’s because she has so many sexy summoning options and in two flavours!  University of Transmortis? Don’t mind if I do. Dead Doxies? Why not.

·         There is no set winning combination – you cannot put together an unbeatable combination of models and just win every game.  For instance I have used Bete Noir 4 times.  Once she didn’t get on the board for 3 turns, once she got shot to pieces on arrival, and twice she has been man of the match and scored me 2 VPs on her own.  Watching her go to town on a group of Gremlins is a thing of beauty, watching a Guild gun line blow holes in her and realising you didn’t save a 10 to bring her back not so much.

·         The schemes mean you don’t just win by killing the enemy models or Master – I am looking at you Warmahordes.  Obviously the more models you can afford to buy the more options you will have but most generic crews can have a shot at most schemes.  If there is such a thing as a generic crew of course.