1st Tournament approaching - Opinions

BadLuckBear

Morning all!

So, my first ever Malifaux tournament approaches and I'm taking a single keyword...FAE! I love the Queen, I think she is so versatile...only issue I have is I have never won a game of M3E with her. How many stones are you guys bringing to the table when you use her? My average is 5 but I think I may be crutching on them too much...

It really depends on the master and crew you choose. No point in bringing too many.

With Pandora I quite often make do with two stones, mainly reserving for a mask for Candy’s by your side, and perhaps a stone to keep her alive. 

With Dreamer I rarely go below 6, because I want the masks for summoning - and Chompy enjoys a guaranteed Execute once in a while.

With Lucius, I never spend more than four. His card draw is great, and I rarely buy suits.

I’ve no experience with the fae, but…

No amount of stones gives you the activations you need to accomplish your Strats and Schemes, so I prefer spending my stones on models (and rarely upgrades).

Then again…

When I play my Colette, I run two fighty henchmen who benefit from those stones. Colette herself makes do with chickens, but beyond those I can easily burn 6-7 stones.

So really it’s a question of how much opportunity do you have to use those stones (number of henchmen) and how many abilities do they possess that require suits?

-

Rant over.

4 hours ago, BadLuckBear said:

Morning all!

So, my first ever Malifaux tournament approaches and I'm taking a single keyword...FAE! I love the Queen, I think she is so versatile...only issue I have is I have never won a game of M3E with her. How many stones are you guys bringing to the table when you use her? My average is 5 but I think I may be crutching on them too much...