Jump to content
  • 0

Cover and shadow: consealment


Question

Hi guys... I have been out of malifaux since the end of 2nd edition and now I am trying to come back. I have been reading the rule book but I am a bit confused

 

so shadow is a new thing, and I’m wondering if I got this right - all blocking terrain generate “shadow” up to 3 inches and anyone who “touches” this shadow gets cover? Did I understand this correctly? So basically shadow extend the cover from 1 inche in 2ed to the actual height or the terrian?

 

for consealment, if a los is drawn thought a sealing terrain, then the attack gets minus flip? To example, if we have a snow bank, which the players agree to be a consealment terrian, and my lynch shoots his derringer from 5 inches away from the snow back to niccodem, who is at the opposite side of the bank, 5 inches away, even though no one is in the shadow, and no one is touching the bank (like 2ed) lynch still gets minus flip?

 

thank you!

Link to post
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
23 minutes ago, Sanik said:

Hi guys... I have been out of malifaux since the end of 2nd edition and now I am trying to come back. I have been reading the rule book but I am a bit confused

 

so shadow is a new thing, and I’m wondering if I got this right - all blocking terrain generate “shadow” up to 3 inches and anyone who “touches” this shadow gets cover? Did I understand this correctly? So basically shadow extend the cover from 1 inche in 2ed to the actual height or the terrian?

 

for consealment, if a los is drawn thought a sealing terrain, then the attack gets minus flip? To example, if we have a snow bank, which the players agree to be a consealment terrian, and my lynch shoots his derringer from 5 inches away from the snow back to niccodem, who is at the opposite side of the bank, 5 inches away, even though no one is in the shadow, and no one is touching the bank (like 2ed) lynch still gets minus flip?

 

thank you!

Looks like you have a fairly good grasp of it! It reads a bit more complicated than it actually is lol. Just remember that only BLOCKING terrain creates a Shadow. So in the case of your snow bank, there is no Shadow created. So yep, if Rasputina, who is 10" away, shoots Lynch through a Ht 0 snow bank and Lynch is 10" away from the snow bank, he still gets Concealment.

Furthermore, Shadow only grants Cover if the Attacker's LoS is draw through the Terrain. So its not simply "just stand in Shadow to get Cover" but "Be behind a wall and near it to get Cover"

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
26 minutes ago, Sanik said:

for consealment, if a los is drawn thought a sealing terrain, then the attack gets minus flip? To example, if we have a snow bank, which the players agree to be a consealment terrian, and my lynch shoots his derringer from 5 inches away from the snow back to niccodem, who is at the opposite side of the bank, 5 inches away, even though no one is in the shadow, and no one is touching the bank (like 2ed) lynch still gets minus flip?

Why are calling a snow bank concealing terrain?

’concealing’ means essentially ‘you can more or less see through this terrain’, like smoke or tree branches with gaps.  It’s not a direct replacement for M2E ‘soft cover’.  (M3E doesn’t really have hard cover and soft cover.)  

I’ve never seen a snow bank that I’d want to call concealing, so your scenario is a bit confusing.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Also keep in mind that under the rules, it's not at all clear if blocking terrain actually stops the sight line, so while you can't establish LoS from a blocked line, if a blocked line subsequently enters conceal terrain, the target can gain conceal.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
6 minutes ago, Sanik said:

Thank you!, additional questions - can concealment stack? in another words, if my los go across 2 concealment terrains, do I get 2 negative flips?

No. Concealment is binary, you either have it or you don't. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information