Looking for advice on a first master and expansions

Hello everyone, I am just getting into Malifaux after being interested in it for a while. After some research, I settled on Resurrectionists as the faction I want to start out with. After looking at all of the models on the app, I'm not really sure where to start with a master that will be new player friendly.

Can anyone give me some suggestions to start out with and maybe a rundown of how to build from scratch?

Any in particular you're interested in?

Molly has a fair bit of depth, but she is what I started with and she is great fun. Her core box + the Archie/crooligan box is plenty to learn her crew.

Seamus, his core box is very weak, but could probably get away with the core box + carrion emissary (though you'll have to do something for the mindless zombies).

McMourning - no 3e core box yet, and it'll make for awkward purchases if you get the 2e one.

Kirai and Von Schtook - probably a bit overwhelming with their options. Maybe do as a second crew unless you love them.

Yan Lo - doesn't have a 3e core box yet, same as McMourning.

Jack Daw- core box plus hanged will probably do you. Bit of a slow crew, so you may struggle on corner deployment.

Reva- weaker crew, and not at all intuitive to play. Would not recommend as a starter. Core box + Lampad/restless spirit box will get you started, but most people would suggest not using lampads, so that may be a bit of a waste.

Overall, Molly is what I started with. She can be a bit tricky, but can handle basically any scenario.

Eternal servitude is a Yan Lo box, but I find the models in it can be good for any crew. If you want some models you can slot in anywhere, snag this box.

• Agree 2

I’d go with the models/keyword that makes you want to paint the most - and is available. 

None af the Ressur masters are simple and friendly towards new players. That shtick is for Guild masters, and they suffer for it balance-wise