Campaign starting Henchman and campaign thoughts for TT

ironchicken

Hi

Seeking thoughts

We are about to kick off a campaign and I am still learning TT. I have been looking at the Henchmen trying to decide who should lead until a master becomes available when Shen L will recruited.

I like Yu but I am not sure about Yu to lead. He seems to me to work best as a deputy support. At present I am thinking about Toshiro, AmaNZ or Ototo because I own them. I also have Yamaziko but  she seems a bit fragile. Finally I am tempted to buy the Lucas box to get Sidir.

One silly thought i had was take Yakazimo and a dawn serpent. Promote the serpent and kill Yamaziko so I can have a crew lead by a dragon but I think that is a non-runner unless the spare parts optional rule is in play. Yu working for a dawn serpent looks like a fun combo you could not normally do.

I care more about enjoying the game than winning the campaign. So I am not looking to be hyper competitive. 

Thoughts?

I'm thinking of running Yu as well in an upcoming campaign and I'm running into some similar issues that you are. Yu is incredibly flexible... When he has access to Shen Long's other upgrades. Until that point I think it's safe to say it's mainly for fun when you run him.

Obviously you want to start with one upgrade on him and that approach means it's probably going to be Pushes or Healing for most players. If you're looking to have fun though, I fully believe you can do it with any of his upgrades. If you're set on Shen Long as your master, I think going heals is probably the safest option though. Campaign-wise minimizing injuries is better than winning at the expense of lasting injuries since you can always play more and cap out script easily enough. As always, your meta may be different though and if you find yourself besieged by Ressers then drunken kung fu could be a better choice.