Where to build from here?

ToddTen

So, I am just starting out in my Malifaux adventure. I played a game with a friend's crew, and I have decided to jump into 10T as my army. Here is what I picked up with my initial purchase(s):

Misaki's crew

10 Thunders brothers

Izamu the Armor

I've heard that the brothers are good for scheme running, and I just love the look of Misaki and her crew. I figure Izamu serves as a pretty good tank. If we rule out other masters boxes for things like Sensei Yu, what would be the best next purchases for me? Thanks for any input!!

• Like 1

Solid suggestions above!

Depending on how much mileage you get out of Smoke and Shadows, Yamaziko and some Oiran could be worth a try too.

I haven't played Misaki yet but she's high on my list (mostly to run the rest of her box with McCabe), but from what I read you mostly want Misaki out killing stuff whilst the rest of the crew works to get you points. To this end, you might also want to try Tengu.

I played a game vs a Wong crew the other day. First time running Yamiziko. Misaki died horribly, Yamiziko chased down and killed Wong on her own. Her 3" melee, Nible, and + Flips vs masters cannot be underestimated. Just protect her until she gets within striking distance with Dense and Blocking terrain.

I second the Katanaka Sniper being a solid choice. Effective sniper and not a slouch in melee.

I'm also a fan of the Dawn Serpent. Blasty shooting, poisoning melee, and surprisingly durable.For 10ss the cost can be prohibitive sometimes for your crew but starting out is a good addition.

And finally if you're willing to proxy, Tengu are great for scheme running. I run two up an edge and force my opponent to either waste ap chasing them down or concede those schemes to me.

• Like 1

the monk of the low river is a pretty good scheme runner, and brings the ever so important (and yet situational) condition removal and they are only 4ss.