Sell me on Malifaux!

Bithlord

My wife and I started playing Warmahordes almost 2 years ago.  We love it, and aren't looking to quit.  What we are looking for is a smaller scale, shorter gameplay experience that we can buy a few models for and pull out to play when we want a change of pace.

Enter Malifaux.  I understand the rules used to be free before 2e, but are not anymore (although this is just hearsay).  What are we looking at for the rules both costwise and complexity wise?

I also understand that getting in and started has a relatively low price point - requiring just a starter and maybe one or two other models.  One thing we got "burned on" in Warmahordes was that when we started, the people selling us the game swore up and down that hte starters were balanced against each other.  In reality they are not.  Trollbloods is a 10 point army, Cryx is a 14 point army, and all the rest are 11 point armies.  Plus, the boxes just don't play balanced against each other.  Will we run into something similar here?  Are there particular OP starters and/or overly weak starters that we should avoid?

Resources! Are there any sites/demo videos that can give us a walkthrough on playing the game (not just a document, but showing us a playthrough - geared towards new players?).  How protective is Wyrd of their "IP"?  Privateer Press won't let anyone publish the stats of any of theri models, and doesn't release them publicly, forcing you to effectively buy something to see what things you should buy.  Will we run into something similar here?

Does Malifaux work for 3/4 players?  We play with a gaming group at our home frequently, and would much rather everyone played the same game than two separate two player games.

Everything else!  Is there anything else you think we should know and/or consider, or anything in particular that attracted you specifically to Malifaux?  Did that attraction turn out to be correct, or was it an initial impression that wasn't quite right?