Ramos activations and tactics

RustAndTheCity

Hello fellow arcanists,

I've Played a few games with Ramos lately. I feel like I haven't been getting the full potential from his activations. 

Some background, I am still a Malifaux noob. I've used Ramos for 4 games so far. My crew is based on Howard, Joss, Johan, Electrical Creation, and the Brass Arachnid with various upgrades.

The issue I have been finding is that I don't have enough good things for Ramos to do each turn.

Turn 1-magnetize to electrical creation, summon spiders. Then walk twice?

Later turns-magnetize if I need to move, summon spiders, then electrical fire things.

I'd love to hear how a typical Ramos activation goes for you. What are the best uses of his AP? 

Thanks!

I'd swap the creation for a mechanical toolkit and have joss charge it for 2 scrap for 3 stones. 

As per activations. 

I would be looking into arching screen more. My typical ramos turn is a walk (if I must, try to position him turn 1 and keep him central), then summoning, arching screening and occasionally healing. 

It seems like you may be using inefficient upgrades. A starting point I recommend is

Ramos, combat mechanic, field generator and under pressure. 

Joss, powered by flame, bleeding edge tech. 

He then becomes a back row model who's job is to keep those upgrades alive. Spiders now heal and have a respectable damage spread with the extra burning. You can then charge him in against key models at opportune moments. 

Howard I tend to give imbued energies and kill a critical model turn 2.

Remember, take a nice big cache and burn stones for 3 spiders per activation. Or 2 if you don't have a tomb in hand. Summon near joss for the heal on activate. 

Cheap yet game changing models to consider 

Mobile toolkit:to be cut in half by joss

Essence of power:changed to it once for a test and never went back (unless I'm taking the rider, Howard, and joss, then I consider it) 

• Like 3