Comprehensive Report (Review, Pimp Guide, and Bat Rep)

Doctor Lucky

LONG POST TL;DR is at bottom :happypuppet1

Intro

I went to Gen Con in '11 and while I was there I saw a huge line for Puppet Wars. I saw that it was with a bunch of tabletop games and since I wasn't interested in a minis game even though I thought the art was awesome, I went about my business. Boy am I kicking myself now. I could have had 5 months of extra time (plus the additional pre-release puppets) to play this very fun board game.

I received Puppet Wars for Christmas from my parents. I am a college student and my family is pretty big into board games. This was the first time I got to see what Puppet Wars actually was and I geeked out.

I'm a fan of painting minis, I'm a fan of having a custom team going head-to-head with another custom team, and I'm a fan of Tim Burton ( how can you not look at the art and not cast Johnny Depp as Seamus and H.Bonham Carter as Rotten Belle?)

I headed over to the Puppet Wars Website after the holidays and read all the threads- and was sad because I couldn't buy these cool pre-release promo minis.. Teddy, Pokey Vic, Hooded Rider, and Lucius. I headed to Boardgame Geek and saw that very little discussion went on (I shall fix this). I then decided to use my parent's crafty brains (and crafty tools before I headed back to college) and PIMP my Puppet Wars.

The Pimp

Box! I went to Michael's and bought a basswood box. I cut a groove for the board to sit, added a chain, latch, painted, and added the awesome details using a vinyl machine. I then made a custom insert that has total customization with sewing pins.

DSC02377.jpg

DSC02379.jpg

Puppets! I then began to paint my minis...

Bases! I followed these awesome guidlines http://yetischool.blogspot.com/2011/12/getting-board-basing-puppet-wars.html

DSC02381.jpg