New to malifaux

foxblue

iHi, I'm just getting into Malifaux and am looking for some input on starting with Sonnia and what some good additions should be. I have the boxed set and I'm working with a limited budget so I'm trying to build my crew keeping that in mind.

Right now I'm looking at

Sonnia

Samael Hopkins

2X Witchling Stalkers

2X Guild Hounds

1x Guild Austinger

Which would give me a 30ss crew with a 8ss cache.

I figure the hounds will give me some mobility in speed based games, would help against ressers and could be good flaming death delivery for more aggressive strategies. I have heard nothing but good things about the autringer, he get's me exactly where I want to be in terms of points so I think he'll be a worthy addition.

So... Does this look like a viable multi-purpose list? I'm not looking to be tournament worthy, I just want to make sure I wont get completely creamed by people who take this a bit more seriously than I do.

Edited by foxblue

edit: Welcome to the Forums.

I don't any experience using the Guild, but you seem to have the parts for a decently well rounded force.

Face-beating (Sonnia & Samael)

Grunts for dirty work (Stalkers)

Objective grabbing speed (Hounds, are they "significant" or "insignificant" can't remember, but that's an important point)

Long range annoyance factor (Austringer)

I suspect that some experience players will still give you a rough going over, but that will be more due to their experience than to any specific areas of weakness in your list.

You'll have a 3rd witchling stalker from the boxed set for swapping out models during specific strategies, or to summon via Violation of Magic.

Make sure you read closely the Strategy(ies) you and your opponent flip and also the schemes you and your opponent choose. This isn't your typical game where you want to kill everything your opponent has. Killing his models usually helps, but Strategies and Schemes are where victory points are scored.