Riding into the Breach... A guide to starting Malifaux

Acefisher1

I actually posted this as a response to someone asking for help on how to learn the game in a month before moving to college.

This is a few things I picked up when I started playing, and things I really wish I had known when I started. Feel free to add to what I’ve said, and correct me where I’m wrong. I hope this helps a few people out at least!

I can tell you that it will be more than helpful to go over the downloadables here. Read all the stat cards a few times. You don't need to memorize them all, but it helps to have seen the abilities that are common and that you can expect to see in games. Try to pick out some of them and note that you need to cross-reference the effect a certain rule has ie: "What does poison do?". Those are the things that I really found I needed to know when playing my first games as they weren't necessarily written on the cards in every case and I would have to ask or open my rules book (don't be afraid to do this!). That being said, it's a little bit irritating now to see someone searching through the original rules book. Grab the new-compact version. Buy 2 copies, keep one in your car and read it whenever you have downtime instead of playing a cell-phone game.

Also, be sure to go on your local store’s forum if they have one, introduce yourself, let them know that you’d like to start playing there, and I’m sure you’ll be welcomed into the group, if not forced into the store by gamers anxious to have new models to fight against!

A List of Recommended Items to Purchase to Begin Malifaux:

· Two Decks of Malifaux Cards, One Puppet, one normal colored deck of your choice

· At least 2 Box Sets of the same Faction (ie: Arcanists: Rasputina and Marcus)

· The Totems for each of the masters you purchased. (ie: Essence of Power and Jackalope)

Thanks to Sephiroa for this description of Totems: