Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'rules'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Categories

  • Wyrd News
  • Games
    • Malifaux 2E
    • Through the Breach
    • Puppet Wars Unstitched
    • Evil Baby Orphanage
    • Jetpack Unicorn
    • Showdown
    • Kings of Artifice

Forums

  • Forum News & Rules
    • Wyrd Announcements
    • Wyrd Board Help and Code of Conduct
    • Community Events
    • Wyrd Events
  • Discussions and Interests
    • News, Reviews, & Discussion
    • The Hobby Room
  • Malifaux
    • Faction Discussion
    • Malifaux Discussion
    • Malifaux Rules Discussion
  • Through the Breach
    • TTB Discussion
    • Player Creations
    • [Campaign] - The Obsidian Gate
  • The Other Side
    • TOS - Discussion
    • TOS - Allegiances
    • The Other Side Rules Discussion
  • Other Games
    • Board Games
    • Card Games
  • Super Secret Forum
  • The131's Upcoming events

Blogs

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.


Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


Website URL


Skype


Location


Interests


Biography:


Location:

Found 67 results

  1. Sorry if this is a silly question but is it possible to stack Somers aura using his Skeeters? Eg if Sommer and both his Skeeters used the 'Do it like this Action' and discarded a Rams. (Bit card intensive with the Ca as well but with Sommers Draw rate its not to hard to set up. Especialy if you used Sami Lacorix + a Gremlin Crier to cycle and increase your hand size) Could Burt Jebson get an additional 3 rams to his duel total one from each aura? (Plus potentially 1 from Lenny, 1 from a flip/ cheat) This gives a grand total of 6 rams including his inbuilt. Crunching some numbers and thinking it may be possible to get Jebson up to a 8/9/10 damage spread with a potential 3 attacks via reckless.
  2. On the gremlin criers card it says 'When this model is killed summon a Bayou Gremlin into base contact with this model before it is removed from play' Since it doesn't say that the crier is then sacrificed I assume that you get a corpse marker & a slow Bayou Gremlin?
  3. gertermit

    triggers timing (again)

    Dear friends! We know, that the Df triggers resolve before Attacking model's triggers. And we know, that model removes from the game after "after damaging" attacking triggers. So, can we resolve Df trigger before removing a model, if this model died during the attack?
  4. Purzel

    Untrained Skills

    I couldn't find a rule regarding the use of skills that a Fated does not possess. Apparently, it is possible to use some of the Close Combat skills, since there is a damage spread for rank 0 listed. But are all skills usable, just by assuming the rank was zero, the AV being exactly the associated aspect value in this case? Everyone can 'evade', but what about any crafting, 'history', let alone magical skills? Not being able to tackle any challenge requiring the notice skill, for instance, if you don't have the skill, seems wrong. It also seems very wrong, however, if an incredibly charming character can play an instrument better than a moderately skilled less charming person. So, is there a general rule that I've missed on how to handle this? Negative flips perhaps?
  5. Hello. I'm just wanting to check if the rules, as written, on the cheating bastard upgrade mean that markers cannot be placed in base contact with Jacob or Huggie, if there is another marker within 4". The text ends with 'it able' so my thinking is that this is refering to the normal restrictions on marker placement.
  6. For resisted damaging spells is the Damage Flip Modifier based on defender's final duel total, spell TN or worst case of both?
  7. Rules for Unbury for actions like "Pine Box" or "Into The Furnace" force an Opposed WP Duel on this Model Activation: Let's say Marshal have some Mimic in his Box. Before Marshal activates, Lucius strikes the Marshal with his Sword Cane and Declares a "Governor's Authority" trigger which gives to Marshal's Attack Actions: When Marshal activates - will he suffer on opposed WP duel. Basically it's not an Action, but rules say if Action calls for Opposed Duel - than it's an attack action (p. 38 of rules-only rulebook) I think Marshal wouldn't suffer because it's not an action, but I cannot identify what IS the right name for this opposed duel. Any thoughts?
  8. I don't really understand when Rank Values should be added to the actions of Fatemaster Characters. Using an example of the Illuminated on Page 187; this minion can make a Scintillating Cloud with the following stats: (1) Scintillating Cloud (Enchanting) AV: 5M (11M) Rg: 8 Resist: Df Target suffers 2/4/5 damage. MM Filled with Stars: After damaging, the target gains the following Condition until the end of this turn of Dramatic Time: “Brilliant Aura: Characters within 1 yard of this character have the Brilliance characteristic.” I have a few questions here: 1. Does the Illuminated always have an acting value of 11 when it attacks with Scintillating Cloud? Is there ever a time when the base acting value of 5 is considered alone or is it always modified by the rank value? 2. Will the Filled with Stars trigger only occur if the defense flip shows a mask? Also, if it does show a mask, can players cheat that mask with another card? 3. Can a Fatemaster character ever get a higher acting value than their Rank Value + Base Acting Value? I think the answer to both questions is yes, but the rules on page 6 of the Fatemaster's Guide specifically state: "This rank is not used to determine a set number the Fatemaster Character always achieves." Thank you!
  9. Lohengrin

    Bases without lip

    Hi! I wonder if bases without a lip are allowed as long as they have the correct size? I'm about to start sculpting a few new bases and would rather work with a plain surface. Best, Lohengrin
  10. Thimblesage

    Can Scheme Markers stack?

    Question about Scheme marker placement, Can they stack? https://youtu.be/evdgzOGEeTU?t=20m14s In this video “allowed to stack scheme markers on top of eachother”. Both the Large book pg.49 and the small book pg.56 are written the same and ready the same way. And yes, both are ambiguous. While playing I have heard both arguments but there hasn’t been any resolution. Below I break down different pros and cons for each that I have run across. The arguments FOR stacking references Section 1 Paragraph 4 “Sometimes a model will drop multiple markers. It is perfectly acceptable for two Markers to be on top of each other; both have their effects, it doesn’t matter which one is placed on top. This doesn’t specify if the “multiple Markers” can be friendly or if it's only legal to stack opposed markers. And Section 4 Paragraph 4 “Models may take a (1) interact Action to remove EVERY enemy Scheme Marker that is in base contact with the model.” The last point isn’t written in either rule book but a logic question. There are a great many Schemes and Strategies that are impossible combos; if every Marker needs a minimum of 4” between each other then certain combinations of S&S are illegal or impossible combinations. This could be a broken flaw to the game or an intentional layer of play strategy to understand the broken and illegal combos. Additional things to note, There are many synergy and metta shenanigans of certain models that almost sound like they would support stackable markers. The argument AGAINST stacking references Section 4 Paragraph 4 “Models may place a scheme Marker in base contact with themselves and NOT within 4” of another friendly Scheme Marker by taking a (1) Interact Action.” Secondly, almost every Scheme and Strategy breaks or becomes moot if you can stack markers. E.G. Line in the Sand becomes an Auto-Take every time. The rule book breaks down markers into the following sections, Markers: Three paragraphs Paragraph 1 - Description/Overview Paragraph 2 - Rules Paragraph 3 - Summary Corps Markers: Three paragraphs Paragraph 1 - Overview Paragraph 2 - Operation Paragraph 3 - Clarification Scrap markers: Three paragraphs Paragraph 1 - Overview Paragraph 2 - Operation Paragraph 3 - Clarification Scheme Markers: Four Paragraphs Paragraph 1 - Rules Paragraph 2 - Overview Paragraph 3 - Clarification Paragraph 4 - Rules
  11. Cadaver_Junkie

    Gremlin Crier - Rules Q

    Hi all! Question about the Gremlin Crier (which I think is an AMAZING model, both in hobby and play terms. Especially the one with the bell, my favourite). I've just grabbed a box of three, plan to run at least one in my new Zipp crew, with Iron Skeeters dropping them on objectives. So; The Over Excited Ability - can you draw multiple cards with multiple Gremlin Criers, for every single card discarded? From the front of the card: Over Exited "When a friendly model within 3" (Aura) of one or more models with this Ability discards one or more cards as the result of a friendly Ability or Action, this model may suffer 1 damage to draw a card. If this model's controller has six or more cards in hand after resolving this Ability, this model suffers 1 additional damage." The thing is, a Gremlin Crier Over Exited Ability is potentially triggered if a friendly discard is made within the 3" Aura of ANY Gremlin Crier on the field. "One or more models with this Ability", not "This model". That could be a massive amount of card draw over the game, especially if you heal these guys as you go, inbuilt zero action or otherwise. Makes sense in a way, Gremlin Criers calling out the news to each other... Thoughts? I've only been playing Malifaux a little while, so maybe I've missed something. EDIT: I mean, have someone discard to go defensive, and draw two or three cards in return! Nice. I like having all the 13's and Jokers in my hand. EDIT EDIT: If this topic has already been covered, my apologies
  12. Mage pursuit (from Into the Steam) has the New Manifestation or Triggered Immuto on the first level. With the New Manifestation I can alternatively add one free (no additional TN cost) Immuto to one Manifestation I already possess. With Triggered Immuto I can add one free (no additional TN cost) Immuto to one Manifestation I already possess that activates on a trigger with a specific suit. Either I misunderstood something or there is no reason to take Triggered Immuto EVER. To make things more complicated, in TTB 2ED the Manifested Power looses the information about alternative free Immuto. So according to the rules, which one should it be?
  13. As the title says, does Wall of Muscle affect melee unarmed attacks?
  14. So, while I'm writing and working up the courage to run a TTB campaign, which will be my first time as FM/GM/DM/etc. and my players are brainstorming character concepts, they discovered something strange: The 2nd edition rulebook states that a character can jump after moving for free, with the base distance of half their Ht in yards and double that if they charged. If they want to get further, they can take a TN 5 Athletics duel to increase the distance jumped by half their Ht on a success (or double that on charge), plus one additional time that for every margin of success. So if a PC takes Wall of Muscle and trains in Athletics, they can easily increase their walks and charges by 4,5 and 9 yards respectively. Not only this, if the same character has Athletics at skill rank 3, they can take the Showboating trigger, meaning that if they get a on the Athletics duel to increase their jump distance, they can take a free attack (which might get a bonus, I can't recall). All this, at no visible drawbacks. So tell me, is this a viable strategy and a free way for every character to gain 1-9 yards increase to all their movement, as well as potential free attacks everywhere if they put a little effort into it, or have we misread or misunderstood something, and it doesn't work at all like that? (I'm using a friends book, that I seldom have at hand, so I can't quote page numbers and might remember stuff wrong)
  15. Le gob

    Magical buffs issue

    Hi everyone, I'm playing a Mage in TTB 2e and I have an issue with buff Magia in general. The problem is it's too powerful, so the fatemaster doesn't want me to take most of the buff spells, and I have to agree with him, these spells are broken. The TN doesn't mean a thing for buffs, as you can prepare yourself in advance and cast it for a day or more. Mental and physical enhancements both can raise all your stats to 5, so a simple spell is better than many destiny steps. Invisibility and Swirling illusions makes you impossible to hit. Improved fate gives you a to everything. Armor and Occultation makes you tanky as hell. That's the spells I can't take as the fatemaster fells if I do, our opponents will have no chances. Could we get a fix to these spells ?
  16. First of all, thank you for reading! I've been playing Malifaux for almost a year, but my actual amount of games is fairly low. Casual only, it's me, my girlfriend sometimes, and two other friends. We worked up to 50ss games while we were still learning the rules and it's been maybe a month or two since we've all really gotten comfortable with them. The first half of that year was me collecting and largely theory as it took me a while to rope in players. Now, I'm a rather socially anxious person, particularly when it comes to strangers and games. This, and my overwhelming pile of greys, has kept me from joining a club with players more experienced than I. The point of this post is simple. My games last upwards of two hours sometimes even with one side often "calling" once the gap in VP gets too large. As casual as I am, I also refuse to deny my opponent their victory so I will usually stick with it if I can. I know in the rulebook it states games should last to about 90 minutes or so, and that's what I've been aiming for to keep my players invested and entertained, but it somehow always breaks 90 by the third or fourth turn (usually when schemes start becoming the focus) and I can see their attention and enthusiasm diminish. For reference, I play predominantly Gremlins, my GF plays an assorted mix of McMourning, Lucius, or Tara. Of the other two, one plays Tara exclusively (when my GF isn't), and the other proxies practically everything but has recently stuck to Arcanists Ramos or Ironsides. Rules wise, I feel we have the game down, but perhaps it's our lack of familiarity with our cards and (in the case of the proxies) our opponents models. Truthfully it's led me to start hiring my lists before I even start so I can eliminate that step (and predominantly elite high cost crews as well) just to keep the time investment down. Perhaps I will build another table so we can get two games at once, with everyone playing. I will edit this post with a battle report (never done one so I apologize in advance) and a timer for each step. Thanks again!
  17. Thimblesage

    Unstitched Rules

    So the Unstitched rules have been unavailable for some time... does anyone have a downloaded copy of it? the weblink has been down or over a year I think.
  18. Orfeo42

    Extraction (GG 2017)

    Hi all, i have a question about extraction (GG 2017 Strategy). Which is the size of the informant marker? Sunday we had a tournament and they pointed out that in the tournament rules the marker size was not written So it could also be a point or impassable, ht 5, etc ... How should we consider it? We used to play it as a 30mm marker ht 0. But this is not written anyware so... What's the right way to play it?
  19. psymonthewizard

    Rules clarification for Pandora

    Hi there, I have a question regarding Pandora's Misery ability, Fading Memory ability and her Expose Fears ability. Say someone takes an attack targeting Pandora's DF, expose fear states that she can use her Wp instead of DF and that she considers the duel as a Wp duel. If she wins the duel, does the Misery and Fading Memory ability trigger? If not, why? My friend told me that they don't trigger but didn't point me to the rules that clarifies this. Thank you in advance.
  20. Hi, Please could you tell me if this map is ok? I played Guild vs Neverborn melee and seems this map set up i can't win. I cannot use my pushes on this map properly and seems like i cannot use Perdita's range too. My opponent is playing Lilith and casting Illusionary forests on the top of that. Best regards,
  21. Hello, everyone. I've recently started playing Malifaux and had a question come up regarding the timing of After Resolving vs. After Damaging. Essentially, the defender had a trigger to push after resolving, and the attacker had a trigger to push after damaging. The player controlling the attacking model wanted to know if he could push to follow after the defender pushed away. Looking through the rulebook I see the following on Page 32: •After resolving: These effects happen after Step 5 regardless of who wins the duel. •After damaging: These effects happen after Step 5 and only if the target suffers 1 or more damage from the Action. These effects are resolved before the damaged model is removed if it was killed by the damage. Step 5 in this instance refers to the step in the duel itself. We also see a note indicating that the Defender's trigger is resolved first. So far this seems pretty clear cut, but the thing that's confusing me is when is damage applied? From looking on page 37-38 it seems that damage is applied during Step 3 of the Attack, "Resolve Results." My questions are below: 1. So would the `After Damaging` trigger occur during Step 3 of the attack (still after Step 5 of the duel), and then the `After Resolving` trigger would occur after Step 3 of the attack? 2. Is `After damaging` essentially the same as `After resolving`, but with the condition that the target must have suffered 1 or more damage? Meaning they take place at the same time, and if two triggers occur simultaneously the defender's is resolved first? Apologies for overcomplicating this, and thank you in advance!
  22. fauxreigner

    Jack Daw remembering injustice

    Apologies because I know this has been discussed before, but I don't know whether a final consensus was ever reached - I've seen contradictory posts about how this works recently on A Wyrd Place. The question is, whether the trigger Remember Injustice on Jack's Noose attack can benefit from extra damage due to Firing Squad Injustice and The Bigger They Are. Lets take Firing Squad Injustice first. It says "When this model suffers damage from an attack action, it suffers +1 damage". Because Remember Injustice is part of the initial Noose attack action, it seems that this damage source should also benefit from +1 damage due to Firing Squad. But then I've also seen it argued that the overall Noose attack action can only receive +1 damage in total. So if you have applied this +1 to the original hit, you can't apply it again to the trigger damage. However, that interpretation seems counter intuitive to me. The Bigger They Are is worded slightly differently: "This models close attack actions that deal damage +1 damage to non-Masters with an upgrade attached". Again, Remember Injustice is considered part of a close attack action, so on face value you would expect the +1 to apply again. But I've seen the same counter argument outlined above applied here as well. So can we resolve this once and for all? Exactly how much damage should Remember Injustice do to a model with Firing Squad Injustice, if Jack has Bigger They Are?? NOTE: posted this here rather than in rules forum, to gain more exposure to those in the know (Outcast players).
  23. While no Fatemaster would allow this, rules as written it seems as though you can change the TN of a spell to an arbitrary number by applying the Terror Immuto and the Reduce Resistance Immuto. For example, let's take a Magia with TN 5 and add the terror immuto (TN +1). It is now TN 6, then we add the reduce resistance immuto, lowering the TN of the horror duel provided by terror by 1 with the benefit of reducing the spells TN by 2. This leaves us with TN 4. Both of these immuto can be applied infinitely and the terror immuto increases the TN by 1 each time while the reduce resistance reduces it by 2 while the effect of the spell remains the same. By doing this you can increase the TN of the spell by 50 with 50x Terror and then reduce it by 100 with 50x Reduce Resistance. This means you can either increase the horror duel provided by the terror immuto to an arbitrarily high TN or you can add another immuto (such as increased duration, range or severe damage) as much as you possibly can (infinite for severe damage) without increasing your TN. Obviously this isn't intended and no sane person would allow it but I'm wondering if I missed something in the rules or FAQ that invalidates it... I assumed that the reduce resistance Immuto could only apply to target numbers of the Magia but the FAQ states that it can be applied to any duel that is the result of a spell, which should include immuto right?
  24. I was playing in a tournament yesterday and one of the Schemes was Search The Ruins. Pretty much in the centre of the board was a cliff which was Height 5 Impassable. It was sufficiently large and so placed as to block 6" of the board centre from 6 to 11 around a clock face. My question is: If I have a model next to the cliff, using the Practices Production upgrade on Colette, could I place a Shame Marker on top of the cliff, in a position to score for Search The Ruins?
  25. Piglets and Warpigs have Set'er Off and Pig Charge Abilities. Set'er Off: When this model has the opportunity to declare an Action, if it is not engaged or within 2" of a friendly Gremlin, it must take a Charge Action if there is a legal target available. Pig Charge: This model may perform the (2) Charge Action as a (1) Action. If I am forced to use 1. AP to Charge my model, can I use the 2. one to just walk away? This might be obvious, but I am new to Malifaux and just wanted to be sure. Let's say, that I was engaged in a combat and killed enemy model with 1. AP and now I am unengaged and more than 2" away from friendly Gremlin, but within threat range (Is it called threat range? Charge + Engagement range.) of my model. I am forced to use 2. AP to Charge it. Next Activation I Activate the said model. Is it considered engaged? Thank you
×