cult of december noob

sephiroa

hi,

I'm new to malifaux and I think I would like to buy the cult of december starter box, but I do not know if this is a good choice for a newbie and how to play. I also consider to take a december acolyte.

can u guys give me some hints to play with cult of december and what other creatures work well with rasputina. also note, i do not know any rules yet.

I'm not new to tabletop games however, I love my necrons in warhammer 40k but i saw malifaux and i'd love to try it.

i simply love the cult of decmeber miniatures.

grts Anthony

Rasputina is my first master and I think she's been a good choice. Let me break down my experiences and assessment of how the figures work.

Rasputina is the big gun of the set. She is pretty fragile, but can lay down a devastating amount of ranged magical attacks. She has a lot of little abilities that can be difficult to keep track of at first, so be sure to take your time at first.

The Ice Golem is very much a tank. He's big and durable and can hit pretty hard, but his real purpose is to tie up stuff so Rasputina can kill it. The ice golem and many other December themed models have a trait called Heart of Ice, which allows Rasputina to draw range and line of sight from it. She takes a significant casting penalty to do it, but the ability to shoot around corners and up to 18" is pretty nice.

Ice Gamins fill pretty much the same role as the golem but aren't as durable. All of the ice constructs have a ranged attack and an aura that increases damage against models without heart of ice. These are easy to overlook as well, but the synergy between all of these abilities are what make the crew work.