New Player Question - How far in advance do you pick your crew in online tournaments?

Invincible_Ink

New player here. I started playing Malifaux about a year ago with a few friends. We started playing in person when
the pandemic situation still allowed it, moved things online a few months in, and recently I started dabbling a bit into
tournament play.

Now the way my friends and I played it, we determined a scenario and chose a leader a few days in advance, giving
us enough time and information to come up with a crew. Now I'm a bit of a tinkerer, and puzzling over my lineup till it
fits the scenario and opponent is one big appeal of the game for me.

But once I started playing people online, I found that not everybody does it like that. I had people locking in their
complete crew days in advance, while others didn't even choose their leader up until our live session started. I
I haven't encountered every master yet and don't know every model in detail so I have to admit that I struggled
with the latter.

That's why I wanted to ask the community how you are handling this. How far in advance do you set up your
games, choosing leader and crew? I wonder if there is a common best practice here, or if everyone does it differently.
What do all you think?

For in-person tournaments, we often play with the convention that it should take you no more than 15 minutes to create your crew and to read your opponent's crew (although I often set up base crews in advance and then adjust crew to situation).

For the vassal series, I try to setup my crew decently quickly so my opponent can read my models (and I can read theirs), but it varies quite a bit. Some people prefer to know whether they're attacker/defender before setting up their crew, in which case it can be easiest to do it on the day.

• Like 1

8 minutes ago, Invincible_Ink said:

That's why I wanted to ask the community how you are handling this. How far in advance do you set up your