How does Flay work with a negative damage flip

Kharetore

Question

Hi all

I'm new to Malifaux and have a question about that Flay that came up in a game.

I was playing a Lilith mother of monster box set plus a Black blood Shaman so a full Nephilim list.

I took the Obsidian Talons upgrade that gives all friendly Nephilim models flay.

Flay - The damage flip resulting from this attack may be cheated if it suffers one or more - flip.

Our group said that on a negative damage flip that you always take the lowest damage that is flipped.

In the game I flipped a 3 (weak) and 7 (moderate) I said I then want to cheat fate (I had the required two masks) and see if I can increase the damage from weak to moderate or severe.

But was told that I would still only be allowed to take the lowest card and lowest damage.

To me this is wrong as there would be no point at all for this upgrade as you can never improve the outcome.

How I read the rule is during the negative flip for damage I take the lowest damage but then I can cheat on the negative flip as you can't normally. This cheat is treat as any normal normal cheat and you use that card you cheat so I can increase the damage I do.

5 answers to this question

You are right: Flay, provided you have the suits for the trigger (two masks for Obsidian Talons), allows you to cheat a card from your hand to replace what has been flipped, even if your flip was a negative, double negative, or triple negative flip. That is, in your example, you would be able to ignore both the 3 and the 7 that you flipped, and use instead the value of a card you play from your hand.

I'm pretty sure that, even with Flay, you remain unable to cheat if one of your cards flipped was the Black Joker.