Ramos -- How many spiders?

Grifonetto

So, I recently bought alt Ramos and a Steampunk Arachnid Swarm, and then I bought Avatar Ramos and discovered that it came with even more steampunk arachnids. I'm trying to decide between basing them as three individuals and one swarm, or doing some kind of really ambitious project where I mount them all on bases that can somehow join together to become a swarm base.

So, having never used him before, my question to Ramos players is -- do I actually *need* six individual steampunk arachnids? How many do you usually have in play? What's the most you've *ever* had in play?

I'm still pretty new with Ramos, but I end up using all of the individual bases. I bought the box set for Ramos and I've actually had to make paper cut outs until I can get more of the actual Steampunk Arachnids.

In a regular game I end up with 1 Swarm of them and at least 6 individual ones (Because I cant resist spawning more in every turn)

Hope this helps.

Plenty of people have used parts of bases with magnets to get the most bang for your buck. You have to think that at some point you will likely have 3 SPA and 1 Swarm or 2 Swarms and you want to create another SPA... I'd pick up another pack or two and get ambitious... do the magnets thing.

http://malifaux.nezumi.me.uk/Ramos.php

If Ratty can do it, anyone can aspire to at least try.

I would say that you need two swarms. You also need six singles for when they split. I have 9 magnetized, and I rarely come close to that.

As you add other things to your Arcanists, you'll feel less need for spiders, which will help somewhat.

I have 9 of the small ones and 3 swarms i bought them before the avatar came out. In lists without the avatar i use around 6-8 small spiders and two-three swarms This is due to me stoking and pumping out as meny spiders i can a turn. I add 3-5 spiders to my starting list brass totem and rusty aylce for help getting the high tome.