Heya,...

Webmonkey

Just signed up for the site and thought that I'd drop a line and say to everyone, as well as introduce myself. My name's Phil, and I'm a long time mini-wargamer. My collection is vast,... and yes,... all painted. (personal rule of thumb,.. I never allow myself to buy the next thing unless/until I'm done painting the first thing).

I am new to Malifaux though. But I find myself pleasently attracted to the model range. My local game store doesn't carry it, but I managed to get them to order me some stuff.

Currently, I'm caught between wanting to do The Dreamer box set,.. or the Collette box set. Thoughts on playstyles would be helpful.

One last thing,.. if anyone knows,... I was looking through the catalog, and I noticed all these beautiful bases,.. victorian, orphanage, sewers, bayou,..... but there is one box set (Kirai????) a japanese themed set. I really like the bamboo flooring bases, but don't see them listed. Is there a way to order those??

Thanks for your time,

Your friendly neighborhood Webmonkey.

Hello and welcome to Malifaux and good to hear you're planning to stay away from those Guild bullies! :D

The Dreamer and Colette's Showgirls have some interesting playing styles, here's a link to the Malifaux Wiki to help you out in how they work and so on...

http://pullmyfinger.wikispaces.com/

I play Colette and The Dreamer myself, both are great crews, but neither that that friendly for beginner players a, though Dreamer is far more forgiving than Colette if you make a mistake.

I have no idea about those base inserts though, sorry. Sometimes some are just made by the person that painted the models and are never intended for actual release.

*steps in to wrangle the rabble*

Welcome to Malifaux. The wiki is helpful, as is the Malifaux.com website. Both crews are... more dificult to learn with, but being a Mini's veteran, it shouldn't be too difficult.