First game - Zoraida

JokerSP3

Hello Everyone,

My name is Ben and I just started playing Malifaux. After reading about all the different masters I was torn between Mcmourning and Zoraida but after reading the Zoraida tactics post by Rathnard I was sold on Zoraida!

I was wondering if I could get some feedback on my first game - its a little long and fairly short hand but hopefully you can understand it.

Just one note - when fighting Zoraida vs Viks it is annoying that 2 of his units I am unable to Obey...

The game was against a friend of mine:

35SS

Mountain terrain

My goal : Treasure Hunt ( Bodyguard on Zoraida (announced) and Hold Out (unannounced) )

His goal : Claim Jump ( Hold Out (unannouncted) and Thwart (he forgot to announce this one) )

He had: Viktorias, Hans, Bishop, Misaki, Lady Hammer(whatever her name is)

I had: Zoraida, voodoo doll (of course), 3 slurids, Bad Juju, mature nephilim.

I started behind a hill in one corner of the map and he started in the other corner between the river and a house.

My first turn (not thinking) I used leap and double move to move my 3 slurids to the middle of the map and surround the treasure ( I couldn't pick it up this turn).

Not realizing how long Hans range was he managed to kill 1 slurid on his first shot and 1/2 kill another.

I activated the mature nephilim and carried Zoraida to the top of the hill in front of me.

He activated the Viktorias and moved the first one and pulled the other to the forward one. The second one used a range shot and killed the second slurid that was already injured.

I activated Zoraida and created a voodoo doll with conduit on Masaki - who then charged and almost killed Hans in the first strike.

He activated Bishop and double moved to the center of the map but was unable to attack any of my slurids.

I activated voodoo doll and finished off hans with the second obey on masaki.

He activated masaki and moved her towards the center of the map.