Guild vs Arcanists

Vanor

Hope this doesn't start a war, but does get some debate going...

I'm new to the game, in fact I don't actually have it yet, but plan on picking some stuff up soon.

I don't like "ugly" models and always play the good guys when I can. From what I've seen so far, Malifaux seems to be a bit like WH 40k, in that there are no real good guys... But based on the models and the "ugly" factor, I'd most likely go with either the Guild or Arcanists.

But I'm not sure which would best suit my play style.

I like to play a more shoot-n-move type group, but don't mind and respect the melee smackdown as well.

I'm guessing from what I've seen both factions offer models that do one or the other, so I could build either a shooty list or a melee list with either faction. Towards that end, I'm thinking of buying two box sets, one melee one ranged for which ever faction I chose...

So I was wondering if I could get any ideas about how both factions play out so I could make a more informed decision.

Does both factions have any sort of AoE? Is one faction better at ranged vs melee? Does one faction have more tricks then the other? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Oh also what colors are each faction?

Guild are Red. Arcanists are Blue.

Go Guild. Buy Perdita and Sonnia boxes. Perdita and her family are the best ranged group in the game (some would argue that Perdita is the best Master). Sonnia has some nice AoE, and she comes with Samael who is a great ranged fighter and the Witchlings, which are good in melee.

Arcanists don't really do the ranged thing, and they tend to be a little more divided than the Guild (i.e. Guild models all go together fairly well).

Not saying Guild > Arcanists or you'll like them more, but if you like to move and shoot, are talking about AoE, and still like some melee, I just think Guild is the way to go. Both groups have tricks, though admittedly the Arcanists tend to have a less straightforward play style.