Complete Noob to the Game Running Gremlins

Etna's Vassal

As always seems to be the case, I bought into a new game based on which miniatures I like, and ended up with the "hardest faction to play". That being said, I have a few questions.

I've read up on how vital Giant Mosquitos seem to be to us. Are they really the be-all-end-all strategy?

I know I need to get a few more Bayou Gremlins, as all I have are the ones from the starter box, but how many piglets should I own? I've got the Hog Whisperer as well as a blister of Piglets (for a total of 4).

Finally, and somewhat related to my first question, I've looked through the book, the Errata, FAQ, and on its card, but the Warpig doesn't seem to be a rare model. Is this right?

If so, is it a bad idea to run two of them?

I was looking at a list like;

-Som'Er

-Warpig x2

-Bayou Gremlin x3

-Giant Mosquito

-Soulstone

Of course, I'd be using "Git Y'er Bro" to spam Gremlins, then converting them into Piglets and another Mosquito.

I know the list really should have a Hog Whisperer to be at full effect, but he, another Bayou Gremlin, and three more Soulstones will fill out my 35 point list.

Thanks for any advice and input you share!

The amount of models depends of course on your preferred play style and game size. The choice of miniatures is also quite limited so usually the shopping list is something along the lines of starter crew, 2-4 mosquitoes, pack of piglets, whisperer, then maybe a second pack of piglets, a second warpig and maybe a pack of gremlins when the games get bigger. The Mosquitoes are amazing models for the price of 2SS. They let you keep your pigs safe, steal the cards from your enemy and fart them to death. They also have the potential to be amazingly sturdy with six wounds and Df7.