Pigapult - Make it ignore LoS?

GrumpyGrandpa

Anyone else tried the Pigapult, after the recent FAQ on how "Placing an object" needs to have LoS? I've had very little experience with it, and wasn't sure if everyone already knew.

From the FAQ:

Section 2

10. *If a model would place an object “anywhere within range” of an Action, does it need to have LoS to that range?*

a) Yes. The range of an Action includes LoS. The only exception to this is if a model is placing itself it does not need LoS

I wonder if making it ignore LoS would break the model?

24 minutes ago, GrumpyGrandpa said:

I wonder if making it ignore LoS would break the model?

Pause for a moment and forget about the part of the action where a model is being placed, and look at the part of the action where it generates a shockwave.  The basic Shockwave rules explicitly include "in range and line of sight" as part of the shockwave process.

Seems like you'd need a really good reason for a model with a range 18" shockwave attack (pretty much the longest range shockwave in the game) should get an exception that no one else does.  🤷‍♀️

12 minutes ago, solkan said:

Pause for a moment and forget about the part of the action where a model is being placed, and look at the part of the action where it generates a shockwave.  The basic Shockwave rules explicitly include "in range and line of sight" as part of the shockwave process.

Seems like you'd need a really good reason for a model with a range 18" shockwave attack (pretty much the longest range shockwave in the game) should get an exception that no one else does.  🤷‍♀️

Shockwave rules say that shockwave marker must be dropped in range and los. Pigapult doesn't drop shockwave markers and shockwave happens after the model is placed. Why should we ignore half of the action wording?

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

2 hours ago, solkan said: