Jump to content
  • 0

Undercover Reporter's "undercover" abilite


Question

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 2

Undercover Reporter's unbury happens at the start of his activation. If there are any other unbury effects, that resolve at the same time, his owner (the active player) can decide which effect happens first. So Undercover Reporter can unbury using his ability and other unbury effects will not resolve at all, as he is no longer buried.

  • Thanks 1
  • Agree 3
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

As answered above the Undercover Reporter can unbury himself with his Undercover ability. But if he was buried by an effect that involve a simple duel when activate, such as Pine Box, I believe that he must still perform the simple duel even he has already been unburied.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 2/4/2021 at 5:15 AM, Rufess said:

As answered above the Undercover Reporter can unbury himself with his Undercover ability. But if he was buried by an effect that involve a simple duel when activate, such as Pine Box, I believe that he must still perform the simple duel even he has already been unburied.

Why do he need to perform the Pine Box duel if he is already unbury?

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
7 hours ago, belorey said:

Why do he need to perform the Pine Box duel if he is already unbury?

Because the only effect that doesn't happen is unburying. Everything else has to be done.

So this is more obvious if the text said "takes two damage and unburies." I believe you'd take two damage, realise that you can't unbury, and ignore the unbury.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Although I guess I should cite the rules:

Quote

If a Buried model would be Buried by a game effect, it ignores that game effect. Models that are not Buried ignore any effects that would cause them to Unbury.

And the FAQ:

Quote

Killjoy – If Killjoy would be killed while it is Buried, does his Demise (Immortal Soil) Ability resolve, thus Healing Killjoy 4? a) Yes. If Killjoy was killed by reducing his Health to 0 while Buried, he would still Heal, though the Bury is ignored.

So we can see from the FAQ that the bury and the heal are separate effects, and you only ignore the bury. If we apply the same logic to the unburying process, then other effects still occur.

  • Agree 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information