Brewmaster Expansion.

FlippingWeak

Hello guys,

I am fairly new to Malifaux and have been attracted by the aesthetics of the Gremlin crew Brewmaster so I picked up the starter box! Now I don't know where to go... I have read on here that he isn't the best crew for a beginner so I was wondering what other Master box would be a good addition to expand them to either use the models from the box with a different master - or to use the models within the new box with Brewmaster. Whilst I know he is Ten Thunder too I really want to stay in the Gremlin line as I favour playing this for greater sense of fun over achievement / tournament play.

Any help would be appreciated and I will be scouring this thread for hints on how/when to play him.

Thank you.

I'd discounted Brewmaster for a long time because I didn't find him fun but I've recently come across a slightly different way of playing him that I prefer.

The temptation with Brewie is to focus on the Drinking Contest - get a bunch of enemies all bundled up around the Brewmaster, and force Wp duels on everything they do. Trixiebelle is your number one model there (from Mah's box) because she lets you cheat your initiative flip, to insure that you will always (or nearly always) get to activate Brewmaster first and pop that bubble. This is kind of the traditional way and it definitely works. You'd also want some cheaper scheme runners and probably a beater or two. Burt Jebsen makes an amazing beater and is a fantastic addition to any Gremlin collection. Bayou Gremlins (from Som'er's box) or Lightning Bugs (from Wong's box) are also great scheme running choices and would be good here.