Combat and new Fated

kanhead

Ran my second game last night, first with Fated characters generated by the players.  I ran the one shot adventure from Chronicle 15: "Train of Thoughts".  All went well though I noticed a few interesting quirks in the dramatic events.  We have just come off a pathfinder season so are probably still in a table top combat (min/max) frame of mind.  This is my first time GMing though I've played

NOTE: Some spoilers below!!

Firstly, one of the Fated is a Guard with Might 3 and Heavy Melee 3 for an opening AV of 6.  Combined with a custom bludgeon with Enlarged (1/1/2 increase damage) & Extended (3" reach).  With a Def of 6 and a sprint of 14" he rushed past the Hunters at Faraday as he was loading the train with the intent of arresting him.  In hindsight I should have had the fated further from the train however to pin him down I had to rush two hunters into melee range and give him a negative twist to disengaging so we could get to the final train battle.  In combat he very quickly crushed the hunters needing only a 4 to hit, doing min damage of 3 (-1 for armor).  The Fated should probably have been more concerned for his new friends battling hunters behind him too! 

Secondly, one of the Fated is a Tinker with Elemental Strike, combined with Fire, Focus object -4 and Reduce AP Immuto.  Using Traditional Magic Theory and the Specialized Skill Talent on Intellect 3 and Sorcery 3.  For those playing at home that's 6AV with a positive twist to hit and the Tomes TN removed.  1 AP at TN11 does nominal 1/2/3 damage but stacks 6 burning tokens on the target.  He will also have a TN12 to land 4 burning tokens on a (0) action.  He murdered about 5 hunters comfortably by tapping them once each.  He was only really challenged by me throwing a stack of Hunters at him to drain his hand and threaten his wounds (needing an 8 to avoid a hit in return)!  See here.