Mei Feng and Misaki on the way

sproutchu

Hi,

I just introduced myslef in the Introduction forum, and now it is time to show my potential (as in "keep faith, talent MAY come to you some day..."). Now, I never painted miniatures before (never even played with them, barely knew they existed in fact), so keep in mind that this is my very first attempt. I went with a test miniature first to get the feel of painting at this scale (well, painting at all actually), the name is Keveun (or Kevuhn, for you english speaking folks), aka Tox from Reaper.

The colors are over the top, the lighting and shadows frankly not to my taste and the face is more muddy than expected, but at least I could try washes, inks, armor wash, face wash, dry brushing, light and shadow effects, etc.

post-15339-13911931385813_thumb.jpg

post-15339-13911931386448_thumb.jpg

It didn't help that I changed my mind quite a few times as I added layers of paint. :P

Now, the Malifaux crews are based. Here's a preview (only the Misaki crew), I'll keep you posted as it progresses.

post-15339-13911931387083_thumb.jpg

post-15339-13911931387676_thumb.jpg

There it is. If only for the assembling/basing/painting part, the buy was worth it. I already have Metal Gamins on the way, along with a box of weird puppets... :D

Thanks guys ! I have to say I'm having a blast with them, and seeing so many great painters here on the forum is just more inspiring.

@Wings @dgraz : For the bases, I must confess I worked with wood in another life, designing and building furniture. I had some cedar left overs in the garage, so it was the easiest way for the Torakage, along with oak veneer to cover the bases. As much as I'd want to replicate wood, there's nothing more real than the real thing.

I'll finish priming the last ones tonight and start working on the Torakage (already primed). I made the mistake to begin with their weapon, but I was too eager to see what I could do with some armor wash.